Early voting ends May 2 for the upcoming May 6 general election in Collin and Dallas counties.

Through early voting, which began April 24, more than 2,500 residents have cast ballots in Richardson for the election. In Dallas County, 2,024 Richardson residents voted, while 519 Richardson voters cast ballots in Collin County.

Overall, more than 70,000 early voting ballots were submitted in the two counties as of April 30.

A closer look: Locally, on the ballot are four City Council races—including the Richardson mayor seat—two Richardson ISD races, three Plano ISD races and a citywide bond proposition for a new city hall.

The Richardson mayor and all council members are elected to two-year terms with no member allowed to serve more than six consecutive two-year terms in any place, according to city officials. Meanwhile, RISD board members in the school district serve three-year staggered terms and are not subject to term limits. The PISD board of trustees consists of seven members elected to serve for overlapping four-year terms, with each candidate representing the district at large.

On the ballot for Richardson voters are the following races, with incumbents identified with an asterisk:

City of Richardson:Richardson ISD:Plano ISD:
  • PISD Place 4: Tarrah Lantz, Lydia Ortega and Margaret Turner-Carrigan
  • PISD Place 5: Greg Jubenville, Michael Cook and Khalid Ishaq
  • PISD Place 7: Katherine Goodwin, Simon Salinas and Cody Weaver*
Citywide bond proposition:

“The issuance of $46 million general obligation bonds for a new city hall and the imposition of a tax sufficient to pay the principal of and interest on the bonds."

Get involved: On election day, polls will be open in Dallas and Collin counties from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Residents can find local voting locations on Collin and Dallas counties' election websites.

For more information on the city election, click here.