Updated at 1:50 p.m., Nov. 4. This story has been updated to reflect the latest results.

Educator Dynette A. Davis has won a three-way race for the Place 4 Frisco ISD board of trustees seat, according to unofficial election results from Collin and Denton counties.

Davis, a former teacher who is founder and CEO of Dymensions Educational Consulting LLC, ran against challengers Muni Janagarajan and Amit Kalra. Davis finished with 35.86% of the votes. Janagarajan had 26.48%, and Kalra had 13.14%. A fourth candidate, Sean Heatley, had 24.52%. Heatley announced in an email in September that he had to drop out of the race, but it was too late to take his name off the ballot.

Davis will replace incumbent board member Anne McCausland, who opted not to seek another term. These results are unofficial as some absentee and provisional ballots still being processed.

The school board election was originally scheduled for May but was postponed to coincide with the general election due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Place 5 trustee Debbie Gillespie, who ran unopposed, will serve a fourth term on the board.

The school board works with the superintendent and other staff to draft and implement policies that determine how the district will be run.

Frisco is one of the fastest-growing cities in the United States and has one of the fastest-growing school districts in the country. FISD serves about 62,000 students in 72 schools, though that number will continue to increase as the city’s population booms and becomes more diverse. The district expects to add approximately another 10,000 students over the next five years.

Voters can read about the candidates for Place 4 here.

These results are unofficial until they are canvassed and certified by the county clerk. Under Texas Election law, the clerk accepts and counts mail-in ballots postmarked by Election Day and received by Nov. 4, if they were sent from inside the U.S., or Nov. 9 if they were sent from outside the U.S.

Visit communityimpact.com/voter-guide/election-results to see results from all local elections in your community.