H-E-B recognizes Fort Bend ISD as Excellence in Education Award finalist

H-E-B announced the finalists for its 2017 Excellence in Education awards.

H-E-B announced the finalists for its 2017 Excellence in Education awards.

Fort Bend ISD was cited among the eight school districts and five early childhood facilities across Texas as finalists for the H-E-B 2017 Excellence in Education Awards program on Friday, Media Coordinator Jill Reynolds said in a news release. The grocery chain also selected five Texas school boards that display strong leadership in their districts.

H-E-B’s 2017 school district, early childhood facility and school board finalists are:

  • Large school districts: Allen, Brownville Grand Prairie, Northwest, and Socorro ISDs

  • Small school districts: Alamo Heights, Hutto, and Lake Travis ISDs

  • Early childhood facilities: Vogel Alcove, Dalton Early Childhood Center, Victoria ISD, John H. Cherry, and Pre-K 4 San Antonio Education Center

  • Public school boards: Dripping Springs, Harlingen, Fort Bend, Hurst-Euless-Bedford and Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISDs

Finalists in the large district category receive $5,000 each from H-E-B, while small district finalists receive $2,500, the release states.  Selected early childhood facilities and school boards also receive $5,000 apiece.

Overall winners will be announced at a May 7 ceremony at the Hilton Hotel, 500 E. 4th St., Austin.

According to the release, the winning large district will receive $100,000 while the winning small district will receive $50,000. An early childhood facility will receive $25,000. One or more school boards will receive up to a total of $25,000.

H-E-B launched the Excellence in Education Awards program in cooperation with the Texas Association of School Administrators in 2002 and has awarded more than $8.5 million to benefit Texas public schools since its inception, the release said.