Seven candidates vying for three positions on Spring ISD board of trustees


Seven candidates are vying for three Spring ISD board of trustees positions up for election in the Nov. 5 election, according to SISD officials.

The three positions up for election include Position 1, held by Deborah Jensen; Position 2, held by Chris A. Bell; and Position 3, held by Justine Durant. All three trustees filed for re-election.

Jensen was first elected to the board in 2010, while Bell was first elected in 2013. Durant was appointed to fill a vacancy in Position 3 in 2006 prior to election in 2007.

Following the deadline to file for candidacy Aug. 19, challengers for each of the three positions include Mechelle Epps for Position 1 and Kelly P. Hodges for Position 2. Both Ernest “Saul” Thomas and John Lopez have filed for candidacy for Position 3.

According to the SISD website, the district’s seven trustees are elected for rotating three-year terms, and elections are held annually on the first Tuesday of November. Although elected to numbered positions, trustees represent SISD as a whole and not specific geographic areas, the website states.

To learn more about the SISD board of trustees, click here. For more information about voting in Harris County, click here.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Hannah Zedaker
Born and raised in Cypress, Texas, Hannah Zedaker graduated from Sam Houston State University in 2016 with a bachelor's degree in mass communication and a minor in political science. She began as an intern with Community Impact Newspaper in 2015 and was hired upon graduation as a reporter for The Woodlands edition in May 2016. In January 2019, she was promoted to serve as the editor of the Spring/Klein edition where she covers Spring ISD and Harris County Commissioners Court, in addition to business, development and transportation news.
Back to top