Klein ISD board of trustees: New officials sworn in, academic calendar approved at Dec. 10 meeting


Following the Nov. 6 election, newly elected Klein ISD board of trustee officials took their oaths of office at the board meeting Dec. 10.

Chris Todd and Julie Benes were sworn in for positions 3 and 4, respectively. Ronnie Anderson, who ran unopposed, was reelected for Position 5.

“I’d just like to thank the other members of the board for such a warm welcome,” Benes said. “It’s a great group … and the community has been so welcoming.”

In the election, Benes edged out Steve Szymczak, who had been on the board since 2003. Todd replaced previous board president Bill Pilkington, who did not run.

At the meeting, Todd also expressed his gratitude towards the community and board.

“I’m glad to be here with this group of people who I consider my friends and colleagues, and I’m looking forward to serving with you,” he said.

In addition, the board appointed board members Georgan Reitmeier as president, Rick Mann as vice president and Doug James as secretary.

The board also approved the 2019-20 academic calendar, which can be viewed here on page 5 as Option A. The first day of school will be Aug. 19 and the last day of school May 28.

There are no changes to the school operational hours.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Eva Vigh
Eva Vigh joined Community Impact Newspaper in 2018 as a reporter for Spring and Klein. Prior to this position, she covered upstream oil and gas news for a drilling contractors' association.
Back to top