Posted 9:36 p.m., May 7

Incumbent Katy City Council Member Steve Pierson was declared the unofficial winner of the at-large seat on City Council Saturday, defeating challenger Steve Jurovic.

The race between Pierson and Jurovic was the only contested race on the ballot for Katy City Council. Pierson finished with 323 votes, or 82 percent of the votes. Jurovic nabbed 73 votes, or 18 percent of the votes.

Steve Pierson Steve Pierson[/caption]

"It feels wonderful. I am blessed by the results," Pierson said. "In the next two years, I have no idea how much [Katy] will grow. In the past two years, Katy has grown exponentially. I'll be ready for anything that comes our way."

Pierson said his top priorities are to stay focused on the current issues facing the city, to support Mayor Fabol Hughes and also make sure the city has the necessary public safety personnel and policies are in place.

"[We need to] make sure the citizen of Katy are taken care of and safe," Pierson said. "[To] make sure our public safety—police and fire—is supported."

The results mean Pierson will be serving his sixth two-year term on the City Council. He served as one of two Ward B City Council members from 2002-08.

Jurovic was unable to be reached for comment.

Two other City Council members were also up for re-election but ran unopposed.

Chuck Brawner was declared the unofficial winner for the Ward A seat and Durran Dowdle was declared the unofficial winner for the Ward B seat.

Steve Jurovic Steve Jurovic[/caption]

A fourth City Council seat was filled March 14 when J. Gary Jones was appointed by a unanimous vote of the City Council to serve the remainder of the term vacated when William Lawton died in June 2015.

The city's home rule charter allows for a candidate who was appointed to fill a vacancy to be re-appointed to fill out the term if he or she is not opposed in the general election. Jones had no opponents as of the filing deadline of Feb. 19.

City Council members serve two year terms and are limited to three consecutive terms. Council members earn $1,000 per month.

All results are unofficial until canvassed.