Here are the local elections taking place in March, November for Bay Area residents

Front view of person holding ballot paper casting vote at a polling station for election vote in black background

For Texas residents, this year will be a signification one for elections. With May and November elections and their runoffs looming, voters will be heading to the polls often, and it all starts with the primary elections less than six weeks away.

On March 3, Bay Area voters will be able to cast ballots for partisan races from the U.S. president down to county officials. See below for a noncomprehensive list of the locals you can vote for. Voters can cast ballots for Republican or Democratic candidates, but not both.

After the primaries, the winning candidate from each party will face off in the general election Nov. 3.

Early voting for the primaries begins Feb. 18. Feb. 21 is the last day to apply for early voting by mail. The last day of early voting is Feb. 28.

Bay Area residents can vote at any vote center in their respective counties on election day and at any center open for early voting.

D: Democrat

R: Republican

*: Incumbent


U.S. House of Representatives, District 14

R: Joshua Foxworth

R: Randy Weber*

D: Sanjanetta Barnes

D: Adrienne Bell

D: Eddie Fisher

D: Robert “Puga” Thomas

D: Mikal Williams

U.S. House of Representatives, District 22

R: Pierce Bush

R: Jon Camarillo

R: Douglas Haggard

R: Aaron Hermes

R: Greg Hill

R: Matt Hinton

R: Dan Mathews

R: Diana Miller

R: Troy Nehls

R: Brandon T. Penko

R: Shandon Phan

R: Bangar Reddy

R: Howard Steele

R: Kathaleen Wall

R: Joe Walz

D: Chris Fernandez

D: Sri Preston Kulkarni

D: Nyanza Davis Moore

D: Carmine Petrillo III

D: Derrick A. Reed

U.S. House of Representatives, District 36

R: Brian Babin*

R: RJ Boatman

D: Rashad Lewis

Texas Senate, District 11

R: Larry Taylor*

D: Susan Criss

D: Margarita Ruiz Johnson

Texas House of Representatives, District 24

R: Greg Bonnen*

D: Brian J. Rogers

Texas House of Representatives, District 129

R: Ryan Lee

R: Dennis Paul*

D: Kayla Alix

State Board of Education, District 8

R: Audrey Young

D: Sharon E. Berry


County Court Precinct 1 commissioner

R: Darrell Apffel*

County Court Precinct 3 commissioner

D: Stephen D. Holmes*


R: Henry A. Trochesset*

D: Mark Salinas

Tax-assessor collector

R: Cheryl E. Johnson*



R: Joe Danna

R: Paul Day

R: Randy Rush

D: Ed Gonzalez*

D: Jerome Moore

D: Harry Zamora

Tax-assessor collector

R: Chris Daniel

D: Ann Harris Bennett

D: Jolanda “Jo” Jones

D: Jack Terence

District attorney

R: Lori Deangelo

R: Mary Huffman

R: Lloyd Wayne Oliver

D: Carvana Cloud

D: Audia Jones

D: Kim Ogg*

D: Todd Overstreet

County attorney

R: John Nation

D: Christian Dashaun Menefee

D: Ben Rose

D: Vince Ryan*
By Jake Magee

Jake Magee has been a print journalist for several years, covering numerous beats including city government, education, business and more. Starting off at a daily newspaper in southern Wisconsin, Magee covered two small cities before being promoted to covering city government in the heart of newspaper's coverage area. He moved to Houston in mid-2018 to be the editor for and launch the Bay Area edition of Community Impact Newspaper.



Here is what to know about rent, mortgages and utility bills during the coronavirus. (Courtesy Fotolia)
FAQ: Paying bills in the time of coronavirus

What to know about rent, mortgages and utility bills during the coronavirus

Texas Tribune: Some local elections in Texas moving ahead despite coronavirus spread

A handful of towns and special districts still plan to go ahead with their May 2 votes, arranging polling places despite calls from the president on down directing people to stay at home to prevent the spread of the deadly virus.

Lake Travis Fire Rescue is one of hundreds of emergency service districts serving millions of Texas residents across the state. Firefighters, EMTs and medical professionals said they are concerned about the availability of personal protective equipment as the coronavirus public health crisis continues. (Brian Rash/Community Impact Newspaper)
First responders, medical professionals across Texas worry about inadequate personal protective equipment supplies

In a survey of emergency service districts across the state, two-thirds of respondents said they were concerned about a shortage of equipment such as masks, goggles and gloves.

Harris County is the third fastest-growing county in the U.S., according to 2019 census data. (Courtesy Visit Houston)
Harris County ranked fastest-growing, most populous county in Texas by 2019 census data

As the 2020 U.S. Census rolls out across the nation, the U.S. Census Bureau released its July 1, 2019, population estimates March 26.

Clear Creek ISD will close all facilities through at least May 4. (Jake Magee/Community Impact Newspaper)
Clear Creek ISD extends school closure through May 4

On March 31, Gov. Greg Abbott announced that schools would remain closed until at least May 4.

Bay Area counties have begun breaking down counts for the coronavirus COVID-19 by city and region, and data indicates that the Clear Lake and League City areas have a total of about 90 positive cases, not counting Houston numbers. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
DATA: How many positive coronavirus cases are there in Clear Lake, League City?

The Clear Lake and League City areas have a total of about 90 positive cases, not counting Houston numbers.

Houston City Council has established a COVID-19 account for its coronavirus response. (Courtesy Visit Houston)
City of Houston establishes coronavirus disaster fund

Houston City Council approved a transfer of $5 million to kickstart the city's response to the virus.

Houston City Council approved a purchase of $64,000 of hand sanitizer April 1. (Adobe Stock Photo)
Houston City Council approves $64,000 purchase of citywide hand sanitizer stations

To combat the spread of coronavirus, more hand sanitizing stations will be available throughout the city of Houston.

Census day is April 1. (Courtesy U.S. Census Bureau)
Galveston County trailing behind in 2020 census responses

Census data helps local governments plan for future community needs, from schools and libraries to emergency services and hospitals.

Jane Sweeney and approximately 30 other members of the Lakeview Quilters Guild decided to take action after hearing of the need for personal protective equipment in area hospitals. (Photo courtesy of Jane Sweeney)
Bay Area residents sew nearly 400 masks for local medical centers

Jane Sweeney and approximately 30 other members of the Lakeview Quilters Guild decided to take action after hearing of the need for personal protective equipment in area hospitals.

Two additional METRO employees test positive for COVID-19

The two new cases follow two of METRO’s other employees that tested positive for the virus.

Census day is April 1. (Courtesy U.S. Census Bureau)
With local funding on the line, Houston's census advocates navigate coronavirus challenges

An undercount in the Houston area could affect federal aid allocations and congressional representation.