Dallas County Judge Clay Jenkins will preside over the 45-member Regional Transportation Council for the next year after being elected chair in June.

What happened?

RTC members elected a new chair, vice chair and secretary during a June 13 meeting. The new officers began their yearlong terms at the end of the meeting.The details

Jenkins is stepping into the chair position after Gyna Bivens, Fort Worth mayor pro tem, who was elected last June. Jenkins previously served as secretary and vice chair before being elected chair. He has served as a county judge and an RTC member since 2011.

He will preside over the RTC during the 89th Texas Legislature, which begins in January.

Bailey was elected vice chair after serving as secretary the previous year. Bailey was first appointed to the RTC in July 2022. Jones will serve as secretary for the coming year.

Learn more

The RTC is a policymaking body composed of elected or appointed officials from across the Dallas-Fort Worth area. As part of the North Central Texas Council of Governments, the RTC oversees transportation planning initiatives and policies for the 12-county region.

Key projects and planning initiatives the RTC has worked on include:

Regional Transit 2.0 study
  • The NCTCOG hired two consultant companies to help design a next-generation transit system for the region.
  • The RTC greenlit the study in 2023.
High-speed rail linking Dallas to Fort WorthMore information about the RTC, including meeting agendas and a list of members, can be found on the NCTCOG’s website.