Victor Gonzales is Pflugerville's next mayor

Candidates for Pflugerville mayor and city council Place 1 answer questions at a forum sponsored by the Pflugerville Chamber of Commerce.

Candidates for Pflugerville mayor and city council Place 1 answer questions at a forum sponsored by the Pflugerville Chamber of Commerce.

Final 9:04 a.m. Nov. 9

Victor Gonzales avoided a runoff and will become Pflugerville’s next mayor. He will take the oath of office Nov. 29.


The election results showed Gonzales taking 6,262 votes in Travis County and 29 in Williamson County for a total of 6,291, or 50.54 percent. The threshold for a runoff is if the top candidate has less than 50 percent of the votes.

Mayoral challenger Brad Marshall had 5,580 votes in Travis County and 15 in Williamson County for a total of 5,595, or 44.95 percent. Phil Osars-Emia had 559 votes in Travis County and 1 vote in Williamson County for a total of 560, or 4.49 percent.

In a message to voters on Facebook, Gonzales said he will “preserve the quality and quaint semblance of a small town community while supporting healthy growth. I will work with you to improve relationships with small businesses, develop plans for infrastructure and manage our growth responsibly.”

Gonzales edging out opposition in Pflugerville mayoral run

Updated 11:44 p.m.

Victor Gonzales is holding a narrow majority with 50.65 percent of the vote in the Pflugerville mayoral race over Brad Marshall who holds 44.62 percent and Phil Osars-Emia with 4.73 percent of the vote.

Gonzales leads Pflugerville mayoral race

Updated 10:24 p.m.

Victor Gonzales is leading the mayoral race in Pflugerville with 50.58 percent of the vote. Brad Marshall follows with 44.86 percent of the vote and Phil Osars-Emia with 4.54 percent.

Gonzales leads early voting returns in Pflugerville mayoral race

Updated 7:58 p.m.

Early voting returns show Victor Gonzales leading the Pflugerville mayoral race. Gonzales has 51 percent of the vote Brad Marshall 45 percent and Philip Omars-Emia has 4 percent.

Outgoing Pflugerville Mayor Jeff Coleman reflects on tenure

Updated 4:21 p.m.

Pflugerville Jeff Coleman[/caption]

As Election Day crossed into the afternoon, Pflugerville Mayor Jeff Coleman attended what could be his last Pflugerville Chamber of Commerce function as a city official.

Coleman, who has served the city as mayor the maximum three, 3-year terms, will be replaced by Brad Marshall, Victor Gonzales or Philip Omars-Emia. Up in the air is when Coleman’s term actually will end.

If one of the three candidates has more than 50 percent of the vote, Coleman will go back to selling insurance full-time in three weeks. However, if the winning candidate has less than 50 percent of the vote, a runoff will ensue between the top two candidates. A winner would emerge after the Dec. 13 runoff and verification takes place.

“It could be interesting,” Coleman said. "We’ll know tonight.”

Coleman knows what the future holds. His family will remain in Pflugerville and he said he is 15 to 20 years from retirement.

“I’m not going anywhere,” said Coleman, who owns a State Farm agency on Main Street. "This is a great community.”

Coleman was only contested during one election cycle. He said he's ready to move on but remain active in the community.

“I’ve enjoyed it,” he said. “Our next mayor will be a good one. I’m proud of what we accomplished. The 1849 Park, when I look back, is one of my proudest accomplishments to be a part of.”

Pflugerville mayoral race may require runoff

Posted 11:15 a.m. The U.S. Conference of Mayors lists Pflugerville as one of 14 Texas cities settling mayoral elections today—or maybe not. According to the Texas Election Code, a law enacted in 1986 may keep the Pflugerville mayoral race from being decided during today's general election. If a candidate does not garner more than 50 percent of the vote, a runoff between the top two candidates will decide the race. Brad Marshall, Victor Gonzales and Phil Osars-Emia are the three candidates vying for the position of Pflugerville mayor. If tonight’s winner is short of 50 percent, a runoff will follow Dec. 13. Community Impact Newspaper will post information and results throughout the day and night.
By Joe Warner
Joe Warner is executive editor of Community Impact Newspaper. He previously served as managing editor for Central Texas and senior editor of the flagship Round Rock, Pflugerville and Hutto newspaper. He came to Central Texas from Metro Detroit, where he was editor and general manager of several daily and weekly publications. He is the former president of the Michigan Press Association and was on the MPA board of directors for nine years.