Round Rock Chamber announces 2020 board of directors

Round Rock Chamber announced its 2020 board of directors in a Jan. 6 news release, with Scott Swindell of Almost Sundown Development selected as chair of the board. Other officers of the board include chair-elect Avis Wukasch of Keller Williams Realty; secretary Shayne Eddleman with efg&m Benefits; treasurer Jeremy Barclay from the St. David’s Round Rock Medical Center; and former chair David Hays of Georgetown Title Company, per the release.

The board officially began its term Jan. 1, according to the release.

“Together, we will continue to focus on the chamber’s mission of leading economic-generation for Round Rock through our focused programs supporting talent development, entrepreneurship, pro-business legislative advocacy, and economic development,” said board chair, Scott Swindell, in the release. “I am personally looking forward to serving with this high-caliber group of leaders in 2020.”

Round Rock Chamber's board of directors includes individuals from a variety of industry sectors to help guide the economic growth of the greater Round Rock community. As members of the board, those selected assist in the implementation of the chamber's strategic plan, per the release.

“In the last three decades Round Rock has experienced economic growth that has benefitted the entire community. That happened because of important engagement and guidance from leaders of the business community,” said Jason Ball, the chamber’s president and CEO, in the release. “We are honored to continue that tradition of business leadership, and under the guidance of our 2020 board."

Members of the 2020 board are as follows:


Chair: Scott Swindell – Almost Sundown Development

Chair-Elect: Avis Wukasch – Keller Williams Realty

Secretary: Shayne Eddleman – efg&m Benefits

Treasurer: Jeremy Barclay – St. David’s Round Rock Medical Center

Past-Chair: David Hays – Georgetown Title Company


Business Climate: John Howard – Dell Technologies, Inc.

Entrepreneurship: Jessica Scanlon – Hot Dog Marketing

Infrastructure: Chuck Glace – Chasco Constructors

Momentum: Ryan Therrell – The Beck Group

Talent Development: Kim Britton – Kalahari Resorts and Conventions

General Counsel

Jim Howicz – Richards Rodriguez & Skeith, LLP


Natasha Baker – Baker Realty

Brentley Brinegar – Brinegar Properties

Joe Brown – Baylor Scott & White Healthcare – Round Rock

Pilar Castillo – First United Bank

Bill Combes – No Time for Social

Mike Doss – Independent Bank

Dr. Brian “Trip” Fell – Pioneer Vision

Dr. Steve Flores – Round Rock Independent School District

Seth Flowers - KangaRoof

Jack Frazier – Emerson Automation Solutions

Charles Gaines – Abilene Christian University

Dr. James Geracci – Ascension Seton Williamson

Mike Heiligenstein – Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority

Isaac Higgins – Cage Free Care

Mike Lancaster – Wells Fargo

Diana Lindsey – Nutrition4Life

Michelle Ly – The Rock Sports Bar / Alcove Cantina

Ryan McGahey – LeadStrong Properties

Jonas Miller – Office of United States Representative John Carter

Edina Morrison – Texas Spanish Academy

Regina Munson – Anchor-Ventana Glass

Councilmember Will Peckham – Round Rock City Council

Brian Pitman – Independence Title

Cary Rabb – Wag-a-Bag

Dr. Richard Rhodes – Austin Community College

Melissa Russom – Dell Technologies, Inc.

Amin Salahuddin – EIXSYS

Selicia Sanchez-Adame – ThinkGroup Austin

Bryant Smith – MVBA Law

Zach Smith – Broadway Bank

Steve Stapp – R Bank

Shaun Tuggle – PlainsCapital Bank

Rick Villarreal – State Farm Insurance

Zahir Walji – High Country Market Bistro and Gastro Pub

Mike White – Lott Brothers

Jeremiah Williams – Sablatura Williams PLLC

Edward Youmans – Pizza Delight
By Kelsey Thompson
Kelsey Thompson is the reporter for Round Rock, Pflugerville and Hutto, where her work focuses on education, city government and community development. Originally from upstate New York, Kelsey relocated to Austin after graduating from Syracuse University in May 2019.


Candidate Mike Siegel declared victory over opponent Pritesh Gandhi during a Zoom call with media July 14. (Screenshot via Zoom)
RESULTS: Siegel declares victory, poised to face Republican incumbent Michael McCaul in November

Candidate Mike Siegel declared victory over opponent Pritesh Gandhi during a Zoom call with media July 14.

A graphic reading "Today's coronavirus updates)
Travis County cases are plateauing around 500 daily, Austin's top doctor says

Stage 5 risk is still likely to come, Dr. Mark Escott said, due to strained ICU capacity.

Texas Senate District 14 special election
Senate District 14 election results: Sarah Eckhardt in the lead; runoff with Eddie Rodriguez possible

The winner of the special election for Texas Senate District 14 will serve out the term of former state Sen. Kirk Watson through 2022.

Donna Imam is in a narrow lead for the Democratic ticket. (Jack Flagler/Community Impact Newspaper)
UPDATED: Donna Imam apparent winner in Democratic ticket in Texas' 31st congressional district race

The Texas 31st congressional district represents Williamson County and parts of Bell County.

2020 primary runoff
UPDATE: Margaret Moore concedes race to José Garza in Democrat primary runoff contest for Travis County district attorney

Read here to see the returns on the 2020 Democratic primary runoff contest for Travis County district attorney.

Polls closed at 7 p.m. July 14 in Texas' primary runoff election. Delia Garza and Laurie Eiserloh are running in the Democratic race for Travis County Attorney. (Design by Shelby Savage/Community Impact Newspaper)
Travis County attorney election results: Delia Garza on her way to victory over Laurie Eiserloh

Laurie Eiserloh and Delia Garza are running to replace retiring Travis County Attorney David Escamilla, who has held the position for the previous 17 years.

The ordinance defines equity as the economic, political or social access granted to all residents, regardless of their race, ethnicity, religion, gender, sexual orientation, veteran status, disability or other forms of identity. (Miranda Baker/Community Impact Newspaper)
Pflugerville Equity Commission formally established

The ordinance defines equity as the economic, political or social access granted to all residents, regardless of their race, ethnicity, religion, gender, sexual orientation, veteran status, disability or other forms of identity.

A photo of the property Tesla is considering
BREAKING: Travis County approves 20-year incentives deal with Tesla for potential gigafactory

Travis County County commissioners voted July 14 to approve millions of dollars in possible tax rebates for the electric carmaker.

Urban Picnic will close July 31 after nearly ten years of business in Round Rock. (Kelsey Thompson/Community Impact Newspaper)
Round Rock's Urban Picnic to close after 10 years in business

"We want to thank this incredible community for all the support over the years," owners Liz Huffstutler and Shelley Matcha said.

The Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation program, giving claimants $600 per week, will end July 25. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
Federal unemployment payments of $600 per week end July 25

While the added $600 federal unemployment benefits will end, Texans are still eligible for other forms of relief.