Early voting begins for Georgetown City Council District 1 runoff

(Courtesy city of Georgetown)
(Courtesy city of Georgetown)

(Courtesy city of Georgetown)

Early in-person voting for the Georgetown City Council District 1 runoff election begins Dec. 2.

Neither Alex Fuller nor Mary Calixtro received more than 50% of the vote during the Nov. 5 election, resulting in the runoff.

The District 1 seat, which primarily represents residents south of University Avenue and east of I-35, was left vacant in August when former Council Member Anna Eby resigned to work at a nonprofit animal sanctuary. The winner of the election will complete the remainder of the term ending in May 2021.
Georgetown City Council members typically serve three-year terms representing one of the city's seven single-member districts.

Early voting runs from Dec. 2-6. Election Day for the runoff is Tuesday, Dec. 10.

There is one polling location for the runoff election—the Williamson County Inner Loop Annex, 301 SE Inner Loop, Georgetown. Polling hours are posted at the Williamson County Elections office website at wilco.org/elections.

By Ali Linan

Ali Linan began covering Georgetown for Community Impact Newspaper in 2018. Her reporting focuses on education and Williamson County. Ali hails from El Paso and graduated from Syracuse University in 2017.


Austin Regional Clinic has observed an increasing number of total number of flu cases since the beginning of 2020. (Courtesy Flickr)
Doctors warn flu season has not yet peaked as flu type rates switch prominence

Local doctors continue to caution residents to get vaccinated against the flu as confirmed cases of both types of the flu have yet to peak, according to Austin Regional Clinic data.

Dale Ross served for three years as a member of the Georgetown city council and six years as mayor. (Courtesy city of Georgetown)
Georgetown Mayor Dale Ross will not seek re-election after two terms

Georgetown Mayor Dale Ross said he will not seek a third term.

The new Barking Armadillo taproom will open at 507 River Bend Drive, Georgetown. (Courtesy Barking Armadillo)
Barking Armadillo Brewing coming soon to Georgetown

Barking Armadillo beers and rotating guest beers will be available in the taproom, along with wines.

Three elementary and middle schools to likely see rezoning in south Georgetown

Georgetown ISD prepares for two new elementary schools, capacity in a growing city

At an event, Georgetown staff asked officials and residents to use Legos to chart where they envisioned growth. (Courtesy city of Georgetown)
Georgetown officials, residents working on a future land-use plan to help guide area development decisions

Georgetown’s 2030 future land-use plan, or FLUP, is being updated for the first time since 2008.

Sun City, Georgetown residents sought for memory loss study

UT Austin Dell Medical School looks to partner with city in large scale, long-term research study

Georgetown officials to make decisions this year on the future of public transportation options

When GoGEO’s fixed-route bus system was launched in fiscal year 2017, city council committed to a three-year service agreement.

The 164-acre community Wolf Lakes Village plans a summer ground breaking

Current plans for the development include space for retail, restaurants, office space, a hotel, a movie theater and up to 2,400 residential units.

Taproom guests will be able to purchase Rentsch and Strange Land beers. (Community Impact Newspaper staff)
Strange Land Brewery moves in with Rentsch Brewery in Georgetown

All Strange Land beer will be produced at Rentsch and its beers will be served in the shared tap room.

Back to top