Anna Eby, Kevin Pitts sworn in to Georgetown City Council


Two Georgetown City Council members took their oaths of office Wednesday following an official canvassing of votes from the May 5 election.

Anna Eby won re-election to City Council’s District 1 position. She received 53.52 percent of 256 votes cast in an election race against Mary Calixtro. Eby was first elected in 2015.

Kevin Pitts took over the council’s District 5 position after outgoing Council Member Ty Gipson chose not to run for re-election after serving one term. Pitts was the only person who filed to run for the District 5 position, prompting a City Council decision in March to cancel an election for that seat.

Georgetown Mayor Dale Ross presented a plaque of appreciation to Gipson for his service on the council as well as a ceremonial key to the city.

Gipson thanked his colleagues on the council, city staff members and his family for their support. He said he was proud of the projects he helped develop while on the council, including the future Downtown West municipal complex, Garey Park, the GoGeo bus system, the Southwest Bypass and the city’s efforts in the area of renewable energy.

He also wished Pitts luck as the incoming council member begins his term.

“I couldn’t be more supportive of a person coming on,” Gipson said.

Pitts, who is the Georgetown commercial banking president for BBVA Compass, now represents constituents in northwest Georgetown between I-35 and Sun City as well as an area that includes the Georgetown Municipal Airport.

“I just look forward to serving Georgetown,” he said.

Eby said she was “very, very honored” to continue serving on the council and would continue to pursue municipal governance that serves all residents rather than special interest groups. She also noted the low turnout in the May 5 election for the District 1 race.

“We have got to get people out to vote,” she said.

The council also voted unanimously Wednesday to select District 3 Council Member John Hesser as the new mayor pro tem. In Georgetown, the mayor pro tem has authority to perform mayoral duties in the case of an absence or disability of the city’s elected mayor, according to the city charter.

The seven members on Georgetown’s council are elected by eligible voters in single-member districts.

The city’s mayoral position, currently held by Dale Ross, is elected at-large.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Evan Marczynski
Evan Marczynski is editor of the Georgetown edition of Community Impact Newspaper, which he joined in 2016 as a reporter in Northwest Austin and previously covered Austin-area health care and Round Rock ISD. Originally from the Pacific Northwest, Evan earned his bachelor’s degree in journalism from Western Washington University in 2012 and worked for local newspapers in Washington state before he moved to Texas.
Back to top