Georgetown City Council cancels uncontested election for District 5 seat


With only one candidate running, the District 5 position on Georgetown City Council will not be part of the city’s upcoming May 5 election following a council decision Tuesday.

The decision clears the way for BBVA Compass bank President Kevin Pitts, who was the only person to file to run for the District 5 seat, to join the City Council. Incumbent District 5 Council Member Ty Gipson chose not to file for re-election.

District 5 covers the northwest area of Georgetown between I-35 and Sun City and includes the Georgetown Municipal Airport.

The May 5 election will still include a contested race for the council’s District 1 position when incumbent Anna Eby faces Mary Calixtro for the council seat that represents an area of Georgetown located to the east of I-35 and south of University Avenue and includes portions of Old Town and St. David’s Georgetown Hospital.

Early voting will begin April 23 and continue until May 1.

Georgetown City Council members serve three-year terms and are elected by voters in single-member districts.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Evan Marczynski
Evan Marczynski is editor of the Georgetown edition of Community Impact Newspaper. He joined Community Impact in 2016 as a reporter in Northwest Austin and previously covered Austin-area health care and Round Rock ISD. Evan is a native of the Pacific Northwest, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Western Washington University in 2012 and worked as a newspaper reporter until he moved to Texas.
Back to top