Candidate filing opens for Georgetown City Council districts 1, 5


A monthlong filing period opened Wednesday for candidates seeking places on May ballots for two of the seven Georgetown City Council districts.

The general election is scheduled for May 5 for council positions representing District 1, which is located to the east of I-35 and south of University Avenue and includes portions of Old Town and St. David’s Georgetown Hospital, and District 5, which is located in the northwest area of Georgetown between I-35 and Sun City and includes the Georgetown Municipal Airport.

Candidate applications for either position are available at Georgetown City Hall, 113 E. Eighth St., Georgetown.

Feb. 16 is the deadline for prospective candidates to file applications with the city secretary’s office, located at City Hall.

District 1 Council Member Anna Eby, who serves as the council’s mayor pro tem, has indicated she intends to run for re-election. Eby was first elected in 2015.

District 5 Council Member Ty Gipson does not plan to run for re-election after serving one term on the council. Kevin Pitts, the Georgetown commercial banking president for BBVA Compass, announced earlier this month that he plans to run for the District 5 position.

City officials will hold a drawing at 4 p.m. Feb. 23 at City Hall to decide the order of candidate names that will appear on the ballot during the May 5 general election.

Early voting will begin April 23 and continue until May 1.

Georgetown City Council members serve three-year terms and are elected by voters in single-member districts.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Evan Marczynski
Evan Marczynski is editor of the Georgetown edition of Community Impact Newspaper. He joined Community Impact in 2016 as a reporter in Northwest Austin and previously covered Austin-area health care and Round Rock ISD. Evan is a native of the Pacific Northwest, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Western Washington University in 2012 and worked as a newspaper reporter until he moved to Texas.
Back to top