The filing period for the May 1 election opened Jan. 13 and will close Feb. 12 for several local races.

In the Sugar Land and Missouri City area, a number of seats will be on the ballot, including ones on Sugar Land City Council and the Fort Bend ISD board of trustees.

Early voting for the May 1 election will run from April 19-27, according to the Texas Secretary of State’s Office.

Below is a list of positions on the May 1 ballot as well as names of candidates who have already filed to run.

Sugar Land City Council

Sugar Land voters will elect City Council members for four district seats during the May election.

As of 9 a.m. Jan 20, the city of Sugar Land had received filing paperwork from one candidate per seat.

Suzanne Whatley is seeking the District 1 seat. Incumbent Council Member Steve Porter, who was first elected to City Council in 2013, is ineligible to run again this year due to term limits.

Incumbents Naushad Kermally, Stewart Jacobson and Carol McCutcheon have filed to retain the District 2, 3 and 4 seats, respectively.

The city of Sugar Land will post candidate biographies online once the filing period closes, according to City Secretary Thomas Harris.

For more information on the Sugar Land City Council election, visit

Fort Bend ISD board of trustees

Residents living within Fort Bend ISD will vote in two school board elections this year: Positions 2 and 6.

To date, Ashish Agrawal and Judy Dae have filed to run for Position 2. Earlier this month, Position 2 incumbent Grayle James announced she would not seek re-election.

Place 6 incumbent Addie Heyliger has filed for re-election. As of Jan. 20, she is unopposed.

For more information on the Fort Bend ISD board of trustees election, visit