Two principal positions were approved by Conroe ISD’s board of trustees at its May 17 meeting: Kevin Meyer and Shawn Almond were named the principals of Conroe High School’s ninth grade campus and Oak Ridge High School, respectively. Name submissions for Flex 22 and 23 elementary schools were also presented and will be decided by the board of trustees June 21, according to Director of Communications Sarah Blakelock.

Superintendent Curtis Null said at the meeting that the Conroe ninth grade campus is expecting 1,500 freshmen in the upcoming year and that the new principal needs to be someone who understands the students and expectations of Conroe High. Meyer was previously the assistant principal at Conroe High School main campus, according to Null.

“It is humbling to be given any opportunity to lead within this amazing district. For me it is even more humbling to be given the opportunity to be a part of the flagship of our district,” Meyer said at the meeting.

Null said Dr. AJ LiVecchi, the previous principal of Oak Ridge High School, has moved to lead the district’s virtual academy, and recommended Almond for the principal role at the campus, as the district needed someone whose passion matches that of the communities’.

“To the War Eagle nation, I look forward to leading and working with you as we continue to equip, develop and grow our students into strong leaders who will make a positive impact on our community, state and nation in the future,” Almond said at the meeting.

For school name submissions, 141 submissions were made for the Flex 22 elementary school, 172 for the Flex 23 elementary school and 58 for miscellaneous district facilities, according to the meeting presentation.

Both schools will serve kindergarten to fourth grade with Flex 22—located on Lexington Boulevard in the Grand Oaks feeder area—opening in August 2023 and Flex 23—located near FM 1484 and Airport Road—opening in August 2024, according to Blakelock.

The name submissions, which were collected from April 20-May 13, were presented to the board of trustees, who will not decide on names until June 21.