Early voting began April 24 and runs through May 2 for the May 6 general election in Collin and Dallas County.

Locally, on the ballot are four City Council races—including the Richardson mayor seat—two Richardson ISD races, three Plano ISD races and a citywide bond proposition for a new city hall.

The Richardson mayor and all council members are elected to two-year terms with no member allowed to serve more than six consecutive two-year terms in any place, according to city officials. Meanwhile, RISD board members in the school district serve three-year staggered terms and are not subject to term limits. The PISD board of trustees consists of seven members elected to serve for overlapping four-year terms, with each candidate representing the district at large.

For early voting, Dallas and Collin county residents can vote at First Baptist Church Richardson, which is located at 1001 N. Central Expressway. Early voting will take place 8 a.m.-5 p.m. April 24-29, noon-6 p.m. April 30 and 7 a.m.-7 p.m. May 1-2.

Below are the candidates on the ballot for voters in Richardson, along with a Q&A for each race.

City of Richardson:Richardson ISD:Plano ISD:
  • PISD Place 4: Tarrah Lantz, Lydia Ortega and Margaret Turner-Carrigan
  • PISD Place 5: Greg Jubenville, Michael Cook and Khalid Ishaq
  • PISD Place 7: Katherine Goodwin, Simon Salinas and Cody Weaver (incumbent)
Citywide bond proposition: “The issuance of $46 general obligation bonds for a new city hall and the imposition of a tax sufficient to pay the principal of and interest on the bonds."

In Dallas and Collin counties, polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. on election day. For more information on the city election, click here.