More than 12% of Richardson’s registered voters took part in the city’s May 1 election, according to city officials.

Voters selected City Council members, Richardson ISD board members and approved the school district’s $750 million bond package.

Collin County saw 14.71% of registered voters in the county cast ballots in the spring election, while Dallas County had 9.63% voter turnout, according to data from the two counties. Richardson Deputy City Manager Don Magner said the city’s combined turnout for the two counties was 12.52%.

“We always want as many people to take part as they can, but for a local election it is a good turnout,” Magner said.

While both of the RISD bond propositions passed, one new member was chosen for the board of trustees, while the other contested race will go to a runoff June 5. One of the two contested City Council elections will also move on to a runoff election on the same date. Early voting for both runoffs will be May 24-June 1, according to election officials.

Council welcomed new members: Joe Corcoran and Jennifer Justice on May 10 along with returning members Mayor Paul Voelker, Place 1 Council Member Bob Dubey, Place 3 Council Member Janet DePuy and Place 5 Council Member Ken Hutchenrider, who were each uncontested in their re-election bids. Corcoran defeated incumbent Kyle Kepner for the Place 4 position, while Justice was uncontested in the race for the Place 2 seat.

Arefin Shamsul and Marilyn Frederick will square off in a runoff for council’s Place 6 seat. Shamsul received the most votes in the Place 6 race with 40.5% followed by Frederick's 30%.

In the RISD portion of the ballot, Megan Timme won the single-member District 1 race with 57.9% of the vote. She won the seat over Vicky Suárez's 28.2% and Tony Casagrande's 13.9%.
Christopher J. Poteet and Amanda Clair will square off in the June 5 runoff election for the RISD at-large Place 7 board of trustees seat. Of the seven candidates vying for the seat in the May 1 election, Poteet received the most votes with 36.2% followed by Clair's 27.5%. Among the other candidates for the Place 7 seat, Blake Sawyer received the next highest percentage of the vote with 13.9%, followed by Nicole Foster's 12.5%, Eric Stengel's 5.6%, Nicholas Frank LaGrassa's 2.4% and Gavin Haynes' 1.9%