Registered voters in Richardson ISD will be able to cast votes in two board of trustees races in May.

Seven candidates filed for the At-Large Place 7 position, which is currently held by outgoing trustee Kim Caston. Caston announced during the board’s Jan. 11 meeting that she would not seek another term.

Three candidates filed for the Single-Member District 1 seat, which is currently held by Jean Bono. Bono announced Jan. 7 she would also step down at the end of her term.

Richardson City Council Member Steve Mitchell, who previously filed for the Place 7 position, announced Feb. 8 that he had withdrawn from the race.

Board members in RISD serve three-year staggered terms and are not subject to term limits. Five of the seven seats on the board are chosen by registered voters of specific districts, while the remaining two seats are elected at-large. This is the result of a lawsuit settled in early 2019 that accused the board of Voting Rights Act violations.

Early voting for the May 1 election is scheduled to take place April 19-27.

The names below reflect a complete list of candidates who will appear on the ballot.

Single-Member District 1

Tony Casagrande

Vicky Suárez

Megan Timme

At-Large Place 7

Amanda Clair

Nicole Foster

Gavin Haynes

Nicholas Frank LaGrassa

Christopher J. Poteet

Blake Sawyer

Eric Stengel