Two trustee races will be part of Richardson ISD's next round of school board elections in May.

New members will be chosen for the board's single-member District 1 and at-large Place 7 positions. The incumbents in each seat announced they do not plan to seek re-election. District 1 trustee Jean Bono made her announcement Jan. 7, while Place 7 trustee Kim Caston announced her decision during the board’s Jan. 11 meeting.

Just one person had filed for District 1 as of 2:30 p.m. Feb. 10, while six candidates had submitted applications for Place 7.

Richardson City Council Member Steve Mitchell, who previously filed for the Place 7 position, announced Feb. 8 that he has withdrawn from the race.

Board members in RISD serve three-year staggered terms and are not subject to term limits. Five of the seven seats on the board are chosen by registered voters of specific districts, while the remaining two seats are elected at large. This is the result of a lawsuit settled in early 2019 that accused the board of Voting Rights Act violations.

The candidate list below will be updated regularly through the filing deadline. The filing period is open through Feb. 12.

District 1

Megan Timme

Place 7

Amanda Clair

Nicole Foster

Gavin Haynes

Nicholas Frank LaGrassa

Christopher J. Poteet

Eric Stengel