Richardson ISD trustees finalize plan for transition to majority single-member district electoral system


Once Richardson ISD had settled its Voting Rights Act lawsuit, the next hurdle was determining how best to roll out its new electoral system.

After three months of discussion, on May 20 trustees voted to approve a transition plan. The rollout will begin with the Nov. 5 election. The ballot will include trustees Karen Clardy, Eron Linn and Katie Patterson.

Of those trustees, only Patterson will not seek re-election. Linn’s Place 5 seat will become District 2, and Clardy’s Place 3 seat will become District 5. Both trustees reside in their new districts and are therefore eligible to run for re-election.

In January, the district settled a lawsuit brought by a former trustee who accused RISD’s at-large voting system of not only favoring white candidates but also discouraging minority candidates from seeking election.

Under the terms of the settlement, five of the board’s seven trustees will be elected by residents of a specific geographic area, while two will be elected by voters districtwide.

The plan contends that Place 2 and 6 seats, held by Kim Caston and Justin Bono, respectively, will transition to at-large districts. Those seats will appear on the May 2020 and May 2021 ballots.

The remaining five places will become single-member districts. All board members will be allowed to complete their terms before the new system takes full effect.

District 3 and 4 have been deemed “opportunity districts,” meaning the majority of voting-age residents are of a minority race. Superintendent Jeannie Stone advocated for at least one of those districts to appear on the November ballot. The other opportunity area—District 3—will be up for grabs in May 2020.

The filing period for those interested in running for board office will open July 22 and close August 19. An informational meeting will be held in mid-to-late July to help potential candidates understand the responsibilities, vision and goals of the board, Caston said.

Election cycle Current place Held by New district
November 2019 Place 3 Karen Clardy District 5
November 2019 Place 4 Katie Patterson* District 4
November 2019 Place 5 Eron Linn District 2
May 2020 Place 6 Justin Bono At-large
May 2020 Place 7 Kristin Kuhne* District 3
May 2021 Place 1 Jean Bono District 1
May 2021 Place 2 Kim Caston At-large


*Will not seek re-election at term’s end

Share this story
1 comment
  1. Olivia, thank you for all you do! It is great to see Community Impact receiving attention. You have sime serious journalism in your background and I am thrilled to see you doing such a fantastic job! Much respect!

Leave A Reply

Olivia Lueckemeyer
Olivia Lueckemeyer graduated in 2013 from Loyola University New Orleans with a degree in journalism. She joined Community Impact Newspaper in October 2016 as reporter for the Southwest Austin edition before her promotion to editor in March 2017. In July 2018 she returned home to the Dallas area and became editor of the Richardson edition.
Back to top