Homeowners and renters in four North Texas counties, including Collin and Denton, are eligible for federal assistance after severe storms and tornadoes passed through over the weekend.

What’s happening?

The Federal Emergency Management Agency added the counties to its Presidential Disaster Declaration for Texas, according to a May 27 news release.
  • Collin County
  • Cooke County
  • Denton County
  • Montague County
Texas officials requested the four counties be added to the declaration after four tornadoes touched down in the area on May 25. More counties may be added to the state's request as additional damage assessments are completed in the coming days, according to a May 28 news release from Gov. Greg Abbott's office.

“FEMA’s approval of four North Texas counties to the Presidential Disaster Declaration is an important step forward to help our communities recover from the recent severe storms,” Gov. Greg Abbott said in a statement. “We will continue working with our state, local and federal partners to ensure all necessary resources, funding and assistance are available to support Texans.”

Something to know

Eligible applicants within those counties can apply for FEMA’s individual assistance program, which provides funding to assist with:
  • Temporary housing
  • Emergency home repairs
  • Uninsured and underinsured personal property losses
  • Disaster legal services
  • Disaster unemployment assistance
  • Medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by disaster
Homeowners and renters can apply for relief in the following ways:
  • Go online to www.disasterassistance.gov.
  • Use the FEMA app on mobile devices.
  • Call the FEMA helpline at 800-621-3362 between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m..
In case you missed it

National Weather Service officials estimate four tornadoes touched down in North Texas on May 25, according to a preliminary report. An EF3 tornado with winds estimated to peak at 165 mph hit a few homes along Prairie Meadow Lane just north of Celina. Several homes along the street sustained damage, but no deaths were reported.

Collin County Judge Chris Hill issued a disaster declaration for the county on May 26 in response to the damages.