After more than 11 years of service on the Plano ISD board of trustees, board President Tammy Richards said she does not intend to seek re-election when her term ends in May.

Richards was elected to her third term in the Place 1 seat in 2017 and has served as the board president during the 2011-13 and 2019-21 school years.

“I am proud to have been the driving force for a number of key initiatives, including the IB World School at Huffman Elementary, the critical renovations finally occurring at Williams High School, concussion awareness and return-to-learn protocols, full-day pre-K for all eligible children two years before the State of Texas provided funding, and a deepened focus on using data to fully understand the challenges and opportunities for all of our schools and all of our children,” Richards said via email.

Richards said her future plans include serving on nonprofit and corporate boards as well as traveling with her family.

“The future of Plano ISD is in great hands under the leadership of Superintendent [Sara] Bonser,” she said.

As of 3:45 p.m. Jan. 29, Shafik Ben Guesmia was the only candidate who has filed for the Place 1 seat on the board.

PISD voters will also have the chance to vote for Places 2, 3 and 6 on the May 1 ballot.

Angela Powell is the Place 2 board member; Nancy Humphrey fills the Place 3 seat; and board Vice President Jeri Chambers holds the Place 6 position.

Ajikwaga Felli is the only candidate currently listed on the district website as having filed to run for the Place 2 position. Powell confirmed to Community Impact Newspaper she plans to run for re-election, but her filing has not yet been posted to the district's website.

Humphrey is the only candidate listed on the district website to have filed for the Place 3 seat.

Chambers and Marilyn Loughray have each filed to run for the Place 6 position.

PISD board members serve four-year terms and are not subject to term limits. While candidates run for specific seats, each trustee represents the entire school district, and candidates are elected by voters districtwide.

The filing period is open through Feb. 12.