Kayci Prince and Julie Holmer were sworn into office at the June 14 Plano City Council meeting.

Prince, the Place 4 incumbent, and Holmer, a newcomer to Place 7, each won their respective council seats during the June 5 runoff election. Neither received at least 50% of the votes cast during the May 1 general election, so a runoff was held. Prince won her seat over Justin Adcock, while Holmer won against Chris Robertson.

The two were the first council members to be sworn in by newly elected Mayor John Muns.

Former Place 7 council member Lily Bao, who lost the mayoral race to Muns during the May 1 election, received an award at the meeting for outstanding service.

"I cannot thank you all enough," Bao said of her time as a council member. "Of course, some of you voted for me, some of you [didn't], but I have put all my heart [into] and worked really hard for all this.
I'm so proud of all the things we have done on council in the last few years."

After the swearing-in ceremony, Place 1 council member Maria Tu was assigned to be Deputy Mayor Pro Tem, succeeding Anthony Ricciardelli in the role.