John Muns was officially sworn in as the 40th mayor of Plano at the May 10 City Council meeting in front of a crowded chamber.

Also taking the oath of office were Anthony Ricciardelli in Place 2 on the City Council and along with Rick Smith for Place 8 on the council. Both incumbents were re-elected to a second term on May 1.

Muns, who is a general partner with Muns Enterprises Inc., a venture capital and general investment company, has a long career of service in Plano. He has previously served on the city's Planning and Zoning Commission and on the board of trustees for Plano ISD.

After the swearing-in ceremony, Muns presided over his first Plano City Council meeting.

Former Mayor Harry LaRosiliere, who had reached his term limit after serving in the city's top elective post since 2013, spoke about his time in office and what Muns can expect.

“I thought the role of the mayor was to be the soul of the city, but your role is to simply reflect. The soul is already out there,” LaRosiliere said. “You will be mayor, no matter where you go, and sometimes that can feel like a burden, but mostly it’s the wind beneath your wings.”

He said being the mayor is a marathon and that he was simply “going to pass the gavel.”

Two other Plano City Council seats will be decided in a June 5 runoff after no one in those races received more than 50% of the vote on May 1. The Place 4 seat is a runoff between Justin Adcock and incumbent Kayci Prince. The Place 7 seat is a runoff between Julie Holmer and Chris Robertson. Early voting will be May 24-29 and June 1. More about the May 1 city elections can be found here.