Plano Mayor Pro Tem Lissa Smith elected president of NCTCOG's executive board


Lissa SmithPlano Mayor Pro Tem Lissa Smith was elected president of the North Central Texas Council of Governments’ executive board at its 50th annual general assembly, which was held on Friday, June 17. The board is the policy-making body of the NCTCOG, which serves 16 North Central Texas counties.

Smith will lead the 17-member board for the next 12 months and assumed leadership from Hunt County Judge John Horn. North Richland Hills City Council Member Tom Lombard was elected vice president and Waxahachie Mayor Kevin Strength was elected
secretary/treasurer during the assembly.

"I am proud to be at the helm of an organization that, throughout its 50-year history, has been at the forefront of promoting regional partnerships and the collective power of local governments," Smith said.

Smith was first elected to NCTCOG’s executive board in 2012, and has served as director and vice president.  A Plano resident since 1990, Smith was elected to her first term on the Plano City Council in 2009 and was re-elected in 2013.  Smith also brings 13 years of experience as district director for former State Senator Florence Shapiro.  Most recently she served as CEO of Meals on Wheels Collin County.