Newly elected Council Members Adam Schiestel and Brian Taylor were sworn in to office during the Flower Mound Town Council’s May 17 meeting.

Schiestel, the incumbent, will continue to serve as the Place 1 council member. He won his race against Carol Kyer on May 7.

“The voters have made their choice, and they made it clearly,” Schiestel said. “While I am personally grateful for their support, the real message from the voters is an affirmation that the work of this council that it has been doing for the past several years is a validation of Sandeep [Sharma], Ann [Martin] and Jim [Engel] for the course they have set, and I’m happy to be able to support them.”

Taylor will serve as Place 3 on the council. He won his race against Robbie Cox on May 7.

“This is such an honor and humbling to be able to serve the residents of Flower Mound,” Taylor said. “Words do not do it justice to say thank you.”

The May 17 meeting was outgoing Council Member Ben Bumgarner’s last meeting. He is running for state representative, District 63, against Jeff Younger.

“I want to thank all my neighbors, all my supporters that believed enough in me to vote for me three years ago,” he said. “And for all my neighbors that didn’t vote for me three years ago, I’m happy to have served you. It’s been a wild ride.”