With the March 6 primary elections on the horizon, Community Impact Newspaper has gathered much of our reporting in one place to help Grapevine, Colleyville and Southlake voters make sense of their choices.

The candidates listed in this guide will be on the 2018 primary election ballot. Only contested races are listed.

Important dates

  • First day of early voting: Feb. 20

  • Last day to apply for ballot by mail: Feb. 23

  • Last day of early voting: March 2

  • Election day: March 6

Voter ID required

Texas voters are required to present one of seven specific forms of photo identification before they may cast their ballots. Voters must present one of the following forms of ID to vote:

  • Texas driver’s license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety

  • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS

  • Texas personal ID card issued by DPS

  • Texas concealed handgun license issued by DPS

  • U.S. military ID card containing the cardholder’s photograph

  • U.S. citizenship certificate containing the cardholder’s photograph

  • U.S. passport

With the exception of the U.S. citizenship certificate, the ID must be current or have expired no more than four years before being presented at the polling place. Voters can apply for an Election Identification Certificate at no cost at any driver’s license office. Details on how to apply for an EIC are available on the DPS website, www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/electionID.htm.
Voters who cannot obtain one of the seven acceptable forms of photo ID due to a reasonable impediment may present a supporting form of identification and execute a Reasonable Impediment Declaration, noting the voter’s reasonable impediment to obtaining an acceptable form of photo identification and stating the voter is the same person on the presented supporting form of identification.

Supporting forms of ID that can be presented for voters with reasonable impediments are:

  • Valid voter registration certificate

  • Original certified birth certificate

  • Copy of or original current utility bill

  • Copy of or original bank statement

  • Copy of or original government check

  • Copy of or original paycheck

  • Copy of or original government document with voter’s name and an address (original required if it contains a photograph)

For additional information regarding voter ID laws, go to the Secretary of State Office’s website, www.votetexas.gov/register-to-vote/need-id.html
Source: Secretary of State office’s website/Community Impact Newspaper

Polling locations

Registered voters in Tarrant County can cast their ballots at any polling location within the county during early voting Feb. 20-March 2. Election day locations are organized by precinct.

Early voting locations


Colleyville City Hall
100 Main St.


The REC of Grapevine
1175 Municipal Way


Southlake Town Hall
1400 Main St.

Election day voting locations


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
500 W. McDonwell School Road

Covenant Church
3508 Glade Road

First Baptist Church
5300 Colleyville Boulevard


Dancing River Assisted Living Center
3735 Ira E. Woods Ave.

First Presbyterian Church
1002 N. Park Blvd.

The REC of Grapevine
1175 Municipal Way

St. Francis Catholic Church
861 Wildwood Lane


Carroll Senior High School
1501 W. Southlake Blvd.

New Day Church
101 East Highland St.

Lonesome Dove Church
2380 Lonesome Dove Road

Southlake Town Hall
1400 Main St.

Sources: Tarrant County /Community impact newspaper

2018 primary election candidates

The candidates listed in this guide will be on the 2018 primary election ballot in the communities defined by Community Impact Newspaper’s Grapevine, Colleyville and Southlake coverage area. Only contested races are listed.
**Name listed on ballot
source: Texas Secretary of State/Community Impact newspaper

Democratic Party

U.S. senator
Sema Hernandez
Edward Kimbrough
Beto O’Rourke

James Jolly Clark
Cedric Davis Sr.
Joe Mumbach
Adrian Ocegueda
Jeffrey Payne
Lupe Valdez
Tom Wakely
Andrew White
Grady Yarbrough

Lieutenant governor
Mike Collier
Michael Cooper

Comptroller of public accounts
Joi Chevalier
Tim Mahoney

Commissioner of the General Land Office
Tex Morgan
Miguel Suazo
Railroad commissioner
Roman McAllen
Chris Spellmon

Republican Party

U.S. senator
Ted Cruz*
Bruce Jacobson Jr.
Mary Miller
Geraldine Sam
Stefano de Stefano

Greg Abbott*
SECEDE Kilgore**
Barbara Krueger

Lieutenant governor
Scott Milder
Dan Patrick*

Commissioner of the General Land Office
George P. Bush*
Davey Edwards
Jerry Patterson
Rick Range

Commissioner of agriculture
Trey Blocker
Jim Hogan
Sid Miller*

Railroad commissioner
Christi Craddick*
Weston Martinez

Presiding judge, Court of Criminal Appeals
David Bridges
Sharon Keller*

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8
Jay Brandon
Michelle Slaughter
Dib Waldrip

County and district candidates

**Name listed on ballot

Democratic Party

State senator, District 10
Beverly Powell
Allison Campolo

State Board of Education, District 11
Celeste Light
Carla Morton

U.S. representative, District 24
Edward “Todd” Allen
John Biggan
Jan McDowell
Josh Imhoff

Republican Party

District judge, 233rd Judicial District
Kenneth E. Newell
Lori DeAngelis Griffith

District judge, 322nd Judicial District
Jennifer Moore
*James B. Munford

District judge, 323rd Judicial District
Riley Shaw
Alex Kim

District judge, 342nd Judicial District
Julie K. Camacho
Pat Gallagher
Kimberly Fitzpatrick

Judge, County Criminal Court at Law No. 4
Deborah Nekhom
Mamie Bush Johnson

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8
Dib Waldrip
Jay Brandon
Michelle Slaughter

District judge, 325th Judicial District
Judith Wells
Cynthia F. Terry

District Clerk
*Tom Wilder
Frank Palomino

Judge, County Probate Court at Law No. 1
Mark W. Sullivan
Patricia Cole
Chris Ponder
Catherine Goodman
Louis J. Stefanos

State representative, District 98
Armin Mizani
*Giovanni Capriglioni

State Board of Education, District 11
Cheryl Surber
*Patricia “Pat” Hardy
Feyi Obamehinti

U.S. representative, District 24
Johnathan Davidson
*Kenny E. Marchant

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3
Lenny Lopez
Bill Brandt

County tax assessor-collector
Mike Snyder
Trasa Robertson Cobern
Wendy Burgess
Rick Barnes