As the March primaries approach, some local and state candidates will see challengers from their own parties in Collin County.

According to the Texas Secretary of State Office’s website, Texas will hold Republican and Democratic primaries March 5 to determine who will be on the ballot in November.

In addition to the presidential and statewide contests, several county positions will be on the March 5 ballot, where voters can opt to weigh in on which candidate will represent their political party.

Dates to know
  • Feb. 5: Last day to register to vote
  • Feb. 20: First day of early voting
  • Feb. 23: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail
  • March 1: Last day of early voting
  • March 5: Election day
  • March 5: Last day to receive ballot by mail (or March 6 if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7 p.m. at the location of the election on election day)
Where to vote

Voters in Collin County may cast a ballot at any polling location during early voting and on election day. Visit to see a full list of where to vote during early voting and on election day.


Check out the state and county candidates who will be appearing on the March 5 primary ballot for voters in Collin County. To see a full list of candidates who have filed for races for federal offices, click here. Only candidates in contested elections are included. Visit county election websites for information on uncontested races.

Note: * denotes incumbent


State Senator, District 30

  • Cody Clark
  • Carrie De Moor
  • Brent Hagenbuch
  • Jace Yarbrough
  • Michael Braxton
  • Dale Frey
  • Matthew Mcghee
State representative, District 33

  • Justin Holland*
  • Dennis London
  • Katrina Pierson
State representative, District 61

  • Chuck Branch
  • Frederick Frazier*
  • Keresa Richardson
State representative, District 65

  • Mitch Little
  • Kronda Thimesch*
State representative, District 66

  • Wayne Richard
  • Matt Shaheen*
State representative, District 67

  • Jeff Leach*
  • Daren Meis
  • Jefferson Nunn
  • Makala L. Washington
State representative, District 70

  • Joe Collins
  • Jack Ryan Gallagher
  • Steve Kinard
State representative, District 89

  • Abraham George
  • Candy Noble*
State Board of Education, District 12

  • Chad Green
  • Jamie Kohlmann
  • Pam Little*
  • Matt Rostami

Collin County tax assessor collector

  • Scott Grigg
  • Cam McCall
  • Angela Powell
Collin County sheriff

  • Sherwood Holmes
  • Jim Skinner*
Collin County commissioner, Precinct 3

  • Jim Garrison
  • Darrell Hale*
Collin County constable, Precinct 1

  • Matt Carpenter*
  • Cris Trevino
Collin County constable, Precinct 4

  • Steve Asher
  • Mike Rumfield
Editor's Note: This article has been updated to reflect candidates for State Senator, District 30 and State representative, District 33.