Read the most popular business and community news from the past week from the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

Attendance zones set up Frisco ISD’s newest schools

When Panther Creek High School opens next fall, it will be home to approximately 841 students in northwest Frisco.

Frisco ISD’s newest high school and elementary school sparked the most recent shift of the district’s attendance zones, which were approved at a Nov. 8 school board meeting.

City Council approves zoning change for mixed-use development on Haggard-owned land coming to Plano

An upscale, mixed-use development is coming to Plano after City Council approved a zoning change that has been contested since September.

Plano ISD postpones grand opening of Robinson Fine Arts Center after finding 'poor workmanship'

Plano ISD officials say they will delay moving into the new Robbie & Lynore Robinson Fine Arts Center after discovering “significant cracking as a result of poor workmanship and/or design.”

McKinney City Council, Community Development Corp. increase investment in Tupps Brewery project

A multimillion-dollar project meant to jumpstart revitalization east of SH 5 in McKinney is getting bigger.

In 2020 Tupps Brewery entered into a partnership with the city of McKinney and the McKinney Community Development Corp. to renovate the city’s historic grain site and allow Tupps to expand its brewery operations as well as add more entertainment options.

Grapevine, TEXRail transit plans set the stage for future growth

Since January 2019, TEXRail has welcomed nearly 1 million riders across its nine stations between Dallas Fort Worth International Airport and downtown Fort Worth. The $1 billion commuter train was projected to welcome nearly 14,000 daily riders by 2030.

Trinity Metro data shows 1,652 daily riders used the train in December 2019, just one year since opening. Those numbers plummeted during the pandemic to just 350 average daily riders in April 2020. But, numbers are climbing back up, topping 1,250 average daily riders in September 2021.

Brooklynn Cooper, Erick Pirayesh, William C. Wadsack, Miranda Jaimes and Sandra Sadek contributed to this report.