Democrat David M. Alameel will take on incumbent Republican U.S. Sen. John Cornyn, R-Houston, on Nov. 4 in the race for Cornyn's Senate seat after Alameel defeated primary challenger Kesha Rogers in the May 27 Democratic Party primary runoff.

Alameel received 72.42 percent of the total votes to Rogers' 27.57 percent, according to unofficial results from the Texas Secretary of State's office.

In the Republican Party faceoff for lieutenant governor, State Sen. Dan Patrick defeated incumbent David Dewhurst. Patrick, a Tea Party candidate, received 65.07 percent of the votes cast in the Republican Party primary runoff to Dewhurst's 34.92 percent.

Patrick will face State Sen. Leticia Van de Putte, D-San Antonio, in the November election. Van de Putte had no Democratic challenger in the primary.

All results are unofficial until canvassed.


Attorney general

State Sen. Ken Paxton, R-McKinney, beat state Rep. Dan Branch, R-Dallas, in the Republican runoff to replace Attorney General Greg Abbott. Paxton, whose district includes Frisco, McKinney, Plano and Richardson, received 63.63 percent of the votes to Branch's 36.36 percent.

Paxton will face Democrat Sam Houston, who was unopposed in the primary.

Commissioner of Agriculture

In the Republican runoff, former state Rep. Sid Miller bested former state Rep. Tommy Merritt in a tight contest. Miller received 53.08 percent of the vote to Merritt's 46.91 percent.

Miller will take on Democrat Jim Hogan, who defeated humorist and singer-songwriter Richard "Kinky" Friedman. Hogan received 53.53 percent of the vote to Friedman's 46.46 percent.

Railroad commissioner

In the Republican race for railroad commissioner, Ryan Sitton beat former state Rep. Wayne Christian and will face Democrat Steve Brown, who defeated challenger Dale Henry in the March 4 primary election. Sitton received 57.24 percent of the vote to Christian's 42.75 percent.

Vote totals from all races are unofficial until votes are canvassed. For complete voting information and race results, visit the Texas Secretary of State's website at