The candidate filing periods for Dripping Springs City Council and Dripping Springs ISD board of trustees elections will open Jan. 15, per press announcements from the city and school district. Both entities have several positions up for vote in the May election this year.

The city will hold elections for two council seats—Place 2 and Place 4—and the city’s mayoral seat. The seats for places 2 and 4 are currently held by Wade King and John Kroll, respectively. The incumbent mayor is Todd Purcell.

On the DSISD board of trustees, elections for two seats will be held—positions currently occupied by Ron Jones and Barbara Stroud. According to the district’s release, Superintendent Todd Washburn will oversee a Candidates Academy on Feb. 5 to give information about the role of trustee for interested parties.

Candidates must submit their completed applications for positions with the city or the school board by Feb. 14.