The March primary election is quickly approaching. Here’s what Travis County residents need to know.

Dates to know

The filing deadline for the Democratic and Republican primaries closed Dec. 11.
  • Feb. 5: last day to register to vote or change your address
  • Feb. 20: first day of early voting
  • March 1: last day of early voting
  • March 5: primary election day
Register to vote

New voters can download a voter registration application—which must be printed, signed and mailed to the county’s election office—or request an application be mailed to them.

Registered voters can update their address and other information online or contact the local voter registrar. Click here to check if you are registered to vote.

More information on early voting and polling locations is available here.

What else?

This year, the Travis County Republican Party will hand-count all mail ballots in the primary election and provide reports the party says will increase transparency. The provision was made after two months of negotiations with the Travis County Democratic Party, during which Republicans vouched for separate polling locations for Republican and Democratic voters, according to Travis County officials.

Both parties reached an agreement to maintain countywide voting Dec. 18, and the voter experience will remain the same, officials said.

On the ballot

The following list only includes contested races. A list of all candidates, including those in uncontested races, is available here.

Travis County district attorney (Democratic candidates)
  • José Garza (incumbent)
  • Jeremy Sylestine
Travis County justice of peace, Precinct 5 (Democratic candidates)
  • Ornela Deseta
  • Tanisa Jeffers
  • Rick “Rico” Olivo (incumbent)
District judge, 353rd Judicial District (Democratic candidates)
  • Susana Castillo
  • Madeleine Connor (incumbent)
  • Sherine Thomas
State representative, District 19 (Republican candidates)
  • Kyle Biedermann
  • Manny Campos
  • Ellen Troxclair (incumbent)
State representative, District 19 (Democratic candidates)
  • Dwain Handley
  • Ach Vance