Based on early voting totals and Election Day precinct results reporting so far, council member Shane Scott will keep his Place 4 seat on the San Marcos City Council having fended off a challenge from perennial candidate Adam Arndt.

What you need to know

As of 9:50 p.m. Nov. 7, Scott won 63.88% of the vote—or 2,335 votes—while Arndt garnered 36.12%—or 1,123.

Scott has served on council at various times. He originally served as Place 2 council member from 2010-15. He went on to run for Place 4 in 2020, defeating incumbent Mark Rockeymoore.

Scott could not be reached as of press time Nov. 7.

Arndt recently challenged council member Saul Gonzales for Place 2 in November 2022.

Results are updated as of 10:27 p.m. and are unofficial until canvassed and certified by the county clerk.

What else?

Alyssa Garza ran an uncontested re-election campaign for Place 3, after a challenger—Griffin Spell—withdrew from the election Aug. 2 after having filed to run, according to the city clerk’s office. A write-in candidate—Aaron Maldonado—filed to run for Place 3 as well but also withdrew Sept. 5, according to city clerk documents.

What's next?

Community Impact will update this article as more election day vote totals are released.

Visit the Community Impact elections page for all local and statewide election results.