Six candidates, including three incumbents, set their sights on a place on the San Marcos City Council as filing closed Aug. 22.

Incumbent Jane Hughson will be challenged by John Thomaides for the mayoral seat. Hughson has served as the mayor since November 2018. She also served three terms as a City Council member from 1996-2002 and 2014-18. Thomaides also served as the mayor from 2016-18.

Place 1 incumbent Maxfield Baker will be challenged by Matthew Mendoza. Baker has served on the council since 2019. Mendoza sits on the planning and zoning commission.

Place 2 incumbent Saul Gonzales will be up against Adam Arndt. Gonzales has been on the council since 2016.

The last day to register to vote is Oct. 11. Early voting runs Oct. 24-Nov. 4. Election Day is Nov. 8.