The deadline to file for candidacy in some local elections is Aug. 22 at 5 p.m.

Both Round Rock ISD and Pflugerville City Council called elections for Nov. 8. In Pflugerville, the positions of mayor and City Council Place 1—held respectively by Mayor Victor Gonzales and Mayor Pro Tem Doug Weiss—are set to expire and will appear on the ballot. The RRISD board of trustees approved orders for both a regular and special election to be held Nov. 8, to fill five of its seven seats.

Places 3, 4, 5 and 6, currently occupied by Trustees Cory Vessa, Amy Weir, Amber Feller and Tiffanie Harrison, will go to the voters in the general election, while Place 1, currently occupied by recently appointed Trustee Kevin Johnson, will be decided in the special election. Those who win their seats in the regular election will serve a four-year term. The special election victor will finish out the term, which ends in 2024.

Application filing for both of the regular elections in RRISD and Pflugerville opened July 23 and will close Aug. 22 at 5 p.m. Special election application filing for RRISD opened July 25 and will close Aug. 25 at 6 p.m.

Candidacy applications for RRISD are available in the district's legal services department as well as on the board of trustees' website, while additional information regarding Pflugerville's election is available on its website.