The Round Rock ISD board of trustees approved Aug. 2 orders for both a regular and special election to be held Nov. 8.

Five of the seven board seats will be decided in these elections. Places 3, 4, 5 and 6, currently occupied by Trustees Cory Vessa, Amy Weir, Amber Feller and Tiffanie Harrison, will go to the voters in the general election, while Place 1, currently occupied by recently appointed Trustee Kevin Johnson, will be decided in the special election. Those who win their seats in the regular election will serve a four-year term. The special election victor will finish out the term, which ends in 2024.

According to the orders approved by the board, application filing for the regular election opened July 23 and will close Aug. 22 at 5 p.m. Special election application filing opened July 25 and will close Aug. 25 at 6 p.m. Candidacy applications are available in the district's legal services department as well as on the board of trustees' website.

Both elections will be conducted jointly with Travis and Williamson counties, although polling locations have not yet been set by either entity.