Gov. Greg Abbott issued a wildfire disaster declaration for 191 Texas counties amid hot and dry weather Aug. 14.

What you need to know

Under the disaster declaration, additional state resources may be deployed to help local officials respond to wildfires, Abbott said.

According to a news release, crews and equipment from the Texas A&M Forest Service, the Texas Department of State Health Services, the Texas Division of Emergency Management, the Texas Department of Transportation and the Texas National Guard were already available and will remain deployed.

Counties under the disaster declaration include Bexar, Comal, Dallas, Denton, Fort Bend, Galveston, Guadalupe, Harris, Hays, Montgomery, Tarrant, Travis, Waller and Williamson.

“I commend the bravery and service of the hundreds of emergency personnel and firefighters who have swiftly responded to the wildfires to protect their fellow Texans and communities,” Abbott said. “Texans are encouraged to remain weather-aware and heed the guidance of state and local officials.”

As of Aug. 15, 194 counties were under burn bans. More details about local burn bans are available on individual county websites.

Staying safe

The TFS reported critical fire weather was forecast for Central and East Texas, with the risk of wildfires increasing in the coming days.

This summer’s extreme heat combined with windy days and little to no rain creates “the perfect environment for a wildfire to grow and become established and potentially threaten communities,” said Erin O’Connor, the TFS’ lead public information officer.

Fires that start under these conditions often spread quickly and are difficult to control.

Click here for more information about wildfire safety and evacuation tips.