Travis County candidates file for races in March primary elections

Photo of Travis County building
The upcoming primary contests will take place March 1. (Community Impact Newspaper staff)

The upcoming primary contests will take place March 1. (Community Impact Newspaper staff)

Travis County races are starting to take shape as the candidate filing period ended Dec. 13 for the March primary.

The primary date is March 1 with early voting happening Feb. 14-25. The primary contest winners will then advance to the general election Nov. 8.

The county finalized new maps in November after the 2020 U.S. census data showed it grew by 20.6% between 2010 and 2020, reaching 1.29 million residents.

Below are the primary races for county judge, Precinct 2 commissioner, Precinct 4 commissioner, county clerk, State Board of Education District 5 and county party chair. Voters have until Jan. 31 to register and can find more information on the Texas secretary of state's elections division website.

Travis County

County judge


  • Andy Brown (incumbent)


  • Rupal Chaudhari

Precinct 2 commissioner


  • Bob Libal

  • Brigid Shea (incumbent)

Precinct 4 commissioner


  • Margaret J. Gomez (incumbent)

  • Susanna Ledesma-Woody

County clerk


  • Dyana Limon-Mercado

  • Kurt Lockhart


  • Susan Haynes

State Board of Education District 5


  • Rebecca Bell-Metereau (incumbent)

  • Kevin Guico

  • Juan Juarez


  • Mark Loewe

County party chair


  • Katie Naranjo (incumbent)


  • Matt Mackowiak (incumbent)

  • Jennifer Fleck

By Benton Graham

Metro Reporter, Austin

Benton joined Community Impact Newspaper as a metro reporter covering transportation in Central Texas in June 2021. Benton's writing has appeared in Vox, The Austin Chronicle, Austonia and Reporting Texas. Originally from Minneapolis, Benton graduated from William & Mary and eventually moved to Austin in 2018.