Updated Nov. 4 12:30 p.m.

Texas legislators in Central Texas saw success as incumbents in garnering new terms to seats in the state House and Senate.

"Thank you to the voters of HD 20 in Burnet, Milam, and Williamson counties for trusting me with another term," Rep. Terry Wilson wrote in a Facebook post after winning re-election to District 20 with 71.42% of votes.

After a tight race in District 45 in which she secured 50.54% of votes, Rep. Erin Zwiener thanked voters in Hays and Blanco counties.

"Now it’s time to get ready for the 87th Legislative Session, so that we safely rebuild the Texas economy and continue to fight for public education, affordable health care, and this beautiful slice of Texas we call home," she wrote.

In another close race in western Travis County, Rep. Vikki Goodwin was re-elected to District 47 with 49.27% of votes compared to challenger Justin Berry's 48.29% of the vote.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to continue serving the constituents of House District 47 for another term," Goodwin said in a statement. "My top priority has and always will be to represent the people of the district and to be available to hear their needs and concerns."

State Sens. Judith Zaffirini and Dawn Buckingham were re-elected to the Senate for districts 20 and 24, respectively. Reps. John Kuempel, Donna Howard, Gina Hinojosa, Celia Israel, Eddie Rodriguez, James Talarico, Kyle Biedermann and John Bucy III were all re-elected to their state House seats.

Updated 10:55 p.m.

Incumbents have maintained the lead in their re-election races for 11 state House and two state Senate seats in Central Texas.

Rep. Eddie Rodriguez, who has maintained a strong lead of 84% of the vote, claimed victory on Facebook, thanking voters in District 51 for his re-election.

Reps. Terry Wilson, John Kuempel, Donna Howard, Gina Hinojosa, Celia Israel, James Talarico and Kyle Biedermann all have strong leads in their races.

Races with narrower leads for incumbents include Reps. Judith Zaffirini with 57.69% of the vote in District 21, Erin Zwiener with 52.29% of the vote in District 45, Vikki Goodwin with 50.56% of the vote in District 47, James Talarico with 51.9% of the vote in District 52 and John Bucy III with 53.48% of the vote in District 136.

Original post

Incumbents have taken the lead in 11 state House and two state Senate races covering the Central Texas area, according to unofficial early and Election Day results.

For election results on these races and other local elections in your community, visit communityimpact.com/voter-guide/election-results.

Here is a breakdown of the races:


District 21

Incumbent Sen. Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo, faces challenger Republican Frank Pomeroy. The district covers parts of Southeast Austin, Kyle and San Marcos.

District 24

Incumbent Sen. Dawn Buckingham, R-Lakeway, faces Democratic challenger Clayton Tucker. The district includes parts of Southwest Austin, Bee Cave and Lakeway.


District 20

Incumbent Rep. Terry Wilson, R-Marble Falls, faces Democratic challenger Jessica Tiedt. This district includes Georgetown and the area north of Leander.

District 44

Incumbent Rep. John Kuempel, R-Seguin, is up against Democrat Robert Bohmfalk and Libertarian Julian Mardock. The seat represents the area east of I-35 near New Braunfels.

District 45

Incumbent Rep. Erin Zwiener, D-Driftwood, faces Republican challenger Carrie Isaac. The district covers Buda, Kyle, San Marcos and Dripping Springs.

District 47

Incumbent Rep. Vikki Goodwin, D-Austin, faces Republican candidate Justin Berry and Libertarian Michael Clark. The seat represents southern Travis County, Bee Cave, Lakeway and parts of far West and Northwest Austin.

District 48

Incumbent Rep. Donna Howard, D-Austin, is up against Republican Bill Strieber. The district includes parts of Northwest, West and Southwest Austin.

District 49

Incumbent Rep. Gina Hinojosa, D-Austin, faces off against Republican Charles Allan Meyer and Libertarian Kenneth M. Moore. The seat represents parts of North, Central and South Austin.

District 50

Incumbent Rep. Celia Israel, D-Austin, is up against challenger Republican Larry Delarose. The district includes parts of North and Northeast Austin and Pflugerville.

District 51

Incumbent Rep. Eddie Rodriguez, D-Austin, faces Republican challenger Robert Reynolds. The district covers parts of South and Southeast Austin.

District 52

Incumbent Rep. James Talarico, D-Round Rock, faces Republican candidate Lucio Valdez. The seat represents Round Rock, Hutto and parts of Georgetown.

District 73

Incumbent Rep. Kyle Biedermann, R-Fredericksburg, faces opposition from Democratic candidate Stephanie Phillips. The district includes New Braunfels.

District 136

Incumbent Rep. John Bucy III, D-Austin, faces challengers Republican Mike Guevara and Libertarian Brian Elliott. The seat includes parts of Northwest Austin, Cedar Park and Leander.

Results are unofficial until they are canvassed and certified by the county clerk. Under Texas election law, the clerk accepts and counts mail-in ballots postmarked by Election Day and received by Nov. 4, if they were sent from inside the U.S., or Nov. 9 if they were sent from outside the U.S.