Candidates revealed in U.S. District 21, Texas House District 46 and more March primary races Central Austin residents will vote on

Two is company, but 17 is a crowd in the Democratic and Republican races for the 21st District seat on the U.S. House of Representatives.

Four Democrats and 13 Republicans have filed for candidacy in their respective parties' primaries to be held on March 6, according to the Texas Secretary of State's website. U.S. House District 21 is being vacated by Rep. Lamar Smith, R-San Antonio, who announced his retirement in November.

In all, 57 candidates in Central Austin races filed for candidacy by the Tuesday deadline. Independents do not hold primaries and may join the field in the November 2018 general election.

Eckhardt facing no opposition for judge seat

Other local highlights include the Travis County Judge position, where incumbent Sarah Eckhardt, a Democrat, garnered neither a Democratic nor Republican challenger for the primaries. If an independent does not enter the general election, Eckhardt would win a new term.

Embattled state Rep. Dawnna Dukes, D-Pflugerville, will face five challengers in the Democratic primary.

Travis County Commissioner Margaret Gomez is up against Susanna Marie Woody in a Democratic primary for Precinct 4.

The full list of candidates who filed in Central Austin races is as follows (* indicates an incumbent):

County Clerk

Dana DeBeauvoir* (D)

Travis County Commissioner, Pct. 2

Brigid Shea* (D)

Travis County Commissioner, Pct. 4

Margaret Gomez* (D)

Susanna Marie Woody

Travis County Judge

Sarah Eckhardt*

Travis County Treasurer

Dolores Ortega Carter* (D)

Travis County District Clerk

Velva L. Price* (D)

Travis County, Court-at-Law No. 1 judge

Todd T. Wong* (D)
Eric Montgomery Shepperd (D)
John Lipscombe (D)
Paul Quinzi (D)
Mike Denton (D)
Brandy Mueller (D)

Justice of the Peace, Travis County Pct. 3

Martin Harry (R)
Susan Steeg* (D)
Sylvia Holmes (D)

Justice of the Peace, Travis County Pct. 4

Raúl Arturo González* (D)

Justice of the Peace, Travis County Pct. 5

Nick Chu* (D)

State Representative District 46

Ana Cortez (D)
Casey L. McKinney (D)
Dawnna Dukes* (D)
Jose "Chito" Vela (D)
Sheryl Cole (D)
Warren Baker (D)
Gabriel Nila (R)

State Representative District 48

Donna Howard* (D)

State Representative District 49

Gina Hinojosa* (D)
Kyle Austin (R)

State Representative District 51

Eddie Rodriguez* (D)

State Senator, District 14

Kirk Watson* (D)

U.S. Representative District 21

Derrick Crowe (D)
Elliott McFadden (D)
Joseph Kopser (D)
Mary Street Wilson (D)
Al M. Poteet (R)
Eric Burkhart (R)
Foster Hagen (R)
Ivan Andarza (R)
Jason Isaac (R)
Jenifer Sarver (R)
Matt McCall (R)
Mauro Garza (R)
Peggy Wardlaw (R)
Robert Stovall (R)
Samuel Temple (R)
Susan Narvaiz (R)
William Negley (R)

U.S. Representative District 25

Chetan Panda (D)
Chris Perri (D)
Julie Oliver (D)
Kathi Thomas (D)
West Hansen (D)
Roger Williams* (R)

U.S. Representative District 35

Lloyd Doggett* (D)
David Smalling (R)
Sherrill Kenneth (SK) Alexander (R)


The property has been a redevelopment and neighborhood revitalization target for years. (Ben Thompson/Community Impact Newspaper)
Austin evaluating 6 plans to redevelop 19-acre St. John site into mixed-use district

The city has long been seeking to rejuvenate the St. John neighborhood property off I-35 with new housing, retail and recreational space.

Students at Norman-Sims Elementary School and Austin ISD's 124 other schools across the district will now be allowed to remove masks during outdoor physical activities with the permission of a parent or guardian. (Jack Flagler/Community Impact Newspaper)
Austin ISD makes outdoor masking optional, eases other health, safety restrictions

Students engaging in outdoor physical activity will now have the option to remove masks.

Photo of the Indeed Tower in downtown Austin
Four Central Austin businesses on the move

These Austin businesses are relocating.

Sienna at the Thompson will include 331 apartment rental homes on floors 15 through 31 of the Thompson Hotel, under construction in downtown Austin. (Rendering courtesy Magellan Development Group)
Forthcoming Thompson Hotel in downtown Austin will include apartment rental homes, restaurant from Chicago-based group

Sienna at the Thompson will provide 331 units on floors 15 through 31 of the hotel, while Land and Sea Department will be opening a restaurant on the fourth floor.

House Bill 1024, signed into law May 12, allows restaurants and bars to permanently sell alcoholic beverages to-go. (Courtesy Pexels)
Cocktails to-go are here to stay in Texas: Gov. Greg Abbott signs change into law May 12

Supporters say the change will help restaurants continue to recover from the economic effects of the coronavirus pandemic.

Photo of two people preparing vaccine vials
Austin Public Health: herd immunity could be in sight

Around 70% of Travis County residents currently have some antibody protection from COVID-19.

Rendering of a condo building
Luxury condos moving into former HOPE Outdoor Gallery space

The project's developer is partnering with the gallery to preserve and relocate the site's artwork.

Austin's phased process for moving people experiencing homelessness out of unregulated encampments will roll out through the summer. (Christopher Neely/Community Impact Newspaper)
City officials detail homeless education and enforcement plan with Proposition B ordinances now in effect

The process that will eventually remove the city's homeless encampment begins this month with outreach and warnings and will stretch until late summer with full enforcement.

Residents will have until May 2023 to obtain a Real ID. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
US Department of Homeland Security extends Real ID deadline until 2023

Drivers will have until May 2023 to get the Real ID, which will be required for adults boarding a U.S. commercial flight.

Susan Bailey was elected president of the American Medical Association in June 2020. (Courtesy American Medical Association)
'I am convinced we will beat COVID': American Medical Association President Susan Bailey discusses vaccine successes, myths, challenges

Bailey was elected president of the American Medical Association in June 2020. Much of the organization's focus during that time has been on vaccine transparency and distribution.