Nine candidates are running in the May Cedar Park City Council races for mayor and three council seats.

Cedar Park voters will decide on the mayor, Place 2, Place 4 and Place 6 council seats. Mayors and council members are elected at large and serve two-year terms. The deadline to file for the May 7 election was Feb. 18.


  • Jim Penniman-Morin

  • Mike Guevara

  • Claudia Chavez

Mayoral candidates include Place 1 Council Member Jim Penniman-Morin, former Council Member Mike Guevara and Claudia Chavez. Current mayor Corbin Van Arsdale is not seeking re-election.

Penniman-Morin was elected to council in 2021. Guevara left his Place 4 seat in 2020 to run as the Republican candidate in the House District 136 race. Claudia Chavez ran for the Place 3 council seat in 2021 but lost to incumbent Anne Duffy.

Place 2

  • Mel Kirkland (incumbent)

  • Collin Klein

Place 2 Council Member Mel Kirkland and candidate Collin Klein are running for the Place 2 seat. Kirkland was first elected to Place 2 in 2018. Klein ran for council in 2021 but lost to Kevin Harris for the Place 5 seat.

Place 4

  • Eric Boyce (incumbent)

  • Dorian Chavez

Incumbent Eric Boyce and former council member Dorian Chavez are running for the Place 4 seat. Boyce was elected to council in 2020. Dorian Chavez was elected to council in 2018 but lost re-election in 2020 to Heather Jefts for the Place 6 seat. Chavez also ran in 2021 for Place 1 but lost to Penniman-Morin.

Place 6

  • Heather Jefts (incumbent)

  • Tim Kelly

Place 6 incumbent Jefts and former Council Member Tim Kelly are running for Place 6. Jefts was elected to Place 6 in 2020 after previously serving in the Place 5 seat for one term. Kelly was elected to Place 1 in 2019 but did not seek re-election in 2021.

Early voting will run April 25-May 3. Election day is May 7. The last day to register to vote is April 7.

Cedar Park voters will consider a $158.8 million bond package in the upcoming May election for transportation, park and public safety projects.

Here are five May election dates to know:

  • April 7: last day to register to vote

  • April 25: first day of early voting

  • April 26: last day to apply for ballot by mail (received, not postmarked)

  • May 3: last day of early voting

  • May 7: election day