The May 6 municipal elections in San Antonio will feature several candidates vying for mayor and the 10 City Council district seats as well as a slate of proposed public safety and policing reforms.

Meanwhile, Hollywood Park will have one contested race for an open City Council spot.

San Antonio

When the state deadline for May 6 election candidate filings came and went Feb. 17, approximately 59 San Antonio residents applied for the mayoral post or a council position. All council incumbents will have a challenger for their respective position.

Mayor Ron Nirenberg, filing for a fourth and final two-year term, will face opposition from dishwasher Christopher Longoria, business owner Ray Basaldua, housewife Diana Uriegas, U.S. Navy veteran Michael Idrogo, retired teacher Gary Allen, construction professional Christopher Schuchardt, retiree Michael Samaniego and self-employed worker Armando Dominguez.

Fourteen residents applied for three north side council district posts.

District 8 Council Member Manny Pelaez is being challenged by film production professional Cesario Garcia.

District 9 Council Member John Courage, in his final campaign, is facing opposition from maintenance technician David Lara, business owners Jarrett Lipman and Dominique Liu, and engineer James Casey.

Three-term District 10 Council Member Clayton Perry, who is facing a drunk-driving investigation, announced his intent to not seek re-election.

Seven residents are vying to succeed Perry: retiree Joel Solis; property manager Margaret Sherwood; North East ISD educator Richard Otley; administrator Robert Flores; business attorney and zoning commissioner Marc Whyte; Madison Gutierrez, who listed social advertising as her occupation; and Bryan Martin, who listed being self-employed on his application form.

San Antonio voters will also determine the fate of a justice charter, a series of proposals that include decriminalizing marijuana possession and abortion as well as prohibiting police chokeholds and no-knock warrants.

Hollywood Park

In Hollywood Park, Place 3 Council Member Michael Voorhies opted against seeking a second term. Former council candidate Dale Randol and Shea Johnson, a Hollywood Park Economic Development Corp. board member, are running for the Place 3 seat.

Place 1 Council Member Chester Drash is unopposed in his filing for a full term. Place 5 Council Member Glenna Pearce drew no opposition in filing for a second term.

Hill Country Village

Only Hill Country Village incumbents Carl Register, Tom Doyle and Allison Francis filed for office, so the city plans to cancel its election.

Shavano Park

Shavano Park, too, looks to cancel its election as three incumbents filed for three available posts - mayor Bob Werner and Council Members Pete Miller and Albert Aleman.