FINAL RESULTS: Arati Singh wins Austin ISD District 9 runoff election

 Austin ISD leaders are working to address the district's budget deficit.

Austin ISD leaders are working to address the district's budget deficit.

Updated 9:40 p.m.:

With all 80 Travis County precincts reporting as of 9:37 p.m., Arati Singh has won the Austin ISD District 9 election with 60.43 percent of votes cast.

Singh had a total of 15,256 votes in the runoff election. Carmen Tilton, who earned the most votes in the Nov. 6 general election, only earned 39.57 percent of the vote Dec. 11.

A total of 25,245 votes were cast in the Dec. 11 election, with 14,756 cast during the early voting period. Results of the election are not official until canvased.

Updated 8:30 p.m.:

As of 8:25 p.m. the Travis County Clerk's Office reports that Arati Singh leads Carmen Tilton in the Austin ISD District 9 runoff, 9,770 votes to 7,009 votes.

The county has counted 2,023 election day votes so far. Results are not official until canvased.

Original post Dec. 11, 7:24 p.m.:

With Travis County polling locations closing at 7 p.m. for the Dec. 11 runoff elections, early voting in the Austin ISD District 9 race shows Arati Singh with a 14.7 percent lead over Carmen Tilton.

Singh received 8,462, or 57.35 percent, of early votes casts, while Tilton received 6,294 votes.

The AISD District 9 seat is an at large position, meaning the eventual election winner will represent the entire school district, not a specific geographic area.

Election background

The runoff election was triggered Nov. 6 when none of the three original candidates for the seat earned 50 percent or more of the vote.

In that election, Tilton lead the three AISD candidates with 72,037 total votes but only gained 40.13 percent of votes in the race. Singh’s 65,489 votes represented 36.49 percent of votes cast. Sam Russo, who did not earn a spot on the Dec. 11 ballot, received 41,961, or 23.38 percent of votes cast Nov. 6.

Also on Nov. 6, LaTisha Anderson won the District 1 trustee race, and Kristin Ashy won District 4. Both new trustees were sworn onto the board at a meeting Nov. 26.