Texas Senate names leaders in each committee, early in session

On Wednesday, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick stocked each of the 14 committees of the Texas Senate with various members and leaders. Here are the key players in each of the 14 committees:


  • Chairwoman: Sen. Lois Kolkhorst, R-Brenham

  • Vice Chairwoman: Sen. Konni Burton, R-Colleyville

Agriculture, Water and Rural Affairs

  • Chairman: Sen. Charles Perry, R-Lubbock

  • Vice Chairman: Sen. Jose Rodriguez, D-El Paso

Business and Commerce

  • Chairman: Sen. Kelly Hancock, R-North Richland Hills

  • Vice Chairman: Sen. Brandon Creighton, R-Conroe

Criminal Justice

  • Chairman: Sen. John Whitmire, D-Houston

  • Vice Chairwoman: Sen. Joan Huffman, R-Houston


  • Chairman: Sen. Larry Taylor, R-Friendswood

  • Vice Chairman: Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr., D-Brownsville


  • Chairwoman: Sen. Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound

  • Vice Chairman: Sen. Juan Hinojosa, D-McAllen

Health and Human Services

  • Chairman: Sen. Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown

  • Vice Chairman: Sen. Carlos Uresti, D-San Antonio

Higher Education

  • Chairman: Sen. Kel Seliger, R-Amarillo

  • Vice Chairman: Sen. Royce West, D-Dallas

Intergovernmental Relations

  • Chairman: Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr., D-Brownsville

  • Vice Chairman: Sen. Paul Bettencourt, R-Houston

Natural Resources and Economic Development

  • Chairman: Sen. Craig Estes, R-Wichita Falls

  • Vice Chairwoman: Sen. Judith Zaffrini, D-Laredo


  • Chairman: Sen. Brian Birdwell, R-Granbury

  • Vice Chair: Sen. Kirk Watson, D-Austin

State Affairs

  • Chairwoman: Sen. Joan Huffman, R-Houston

  • Vice Chairman: Sen. Bryan Hughes, R-Mineola


  • Chairman: Sen. Robert Nichols, R-Jacksonville

  • Vice Chairman: Sen. Bob Hall, R-Edgewood

Veteran Affairs and Border Security

  • Chairwoman: Sen. Donna Campbell, R-New Braunfels

  • Vice Chairman: Sen. Don Huffines, R-Dallas

Things to note:

  • Patrick removed members Sen. Sylvia Garcia, D-Houston; Sen. Jose Rodriguez, D-El Paso; and Sen. Lois Kolkhorst, R-Brenham, from the Senate Education Committee. He replaced them with Sen. Bryan Hughes, R-Mineola; Sen. Bob Hall, R-Edgewood; and Sen. Carlos Uresti, D-San Antonio.

  • Sen. Hughes received a vice chairman position as a freshman senator.

  • Sen. Kolkhorst is receiving her first chairmanship of a committee; she was named chairwoman of the Senate Administration Committee.

  • Several¬†senators have neither a vice chairperson nor chairperson position. These senators include: Sen. Sylvia Garcia, D-Houston; Sen. Van Taylor, R-Plano; Sen. Borris Miles, D-Houston; Sen. Dawn Buckingham, R-Austin; and Sen. Jose Menendez, D-San Antonio.

  • Only one bill has been referred to committee. Sen. Nelson's Senate Bill 1 will face committee hearings on Monday.