Bill E. Waybourn wins Tarrant County Sheriff race

Election day is Nov. 8.

Election day is Nov. 8.

Updated 6:30 a.m.

With all ballots reported, Bill E. Waybourn emerged as the winner of the race for Tarrant County sheriff with 382,102 votes, or 80.73 percent of the votes. Challenger Max W. Koch III received 91,218 votes, or 19.27 percent of the votes.

Waybourn, who will replace Dee Anderson, will assume office on Jan. 1

Bill E. Waybourn leading race for Tarrant County Sheriff after early voting results

Posted 7:55 p.m.

Republican candidate Bill E. Waybourn is winning the race for Tarrant County sheriff against Libertarian candidate Max W. Koch III with 82.36 percent of early votes.

Koch received 63,228 early votes, or 17.64 percent.

During the primaries, Waybourn ran against current Tarrant County Sheriff Dee Anderson, receiving 54.91 percent of the votes compared to Anderson, who received 45.09 percent of the votes.
By Sherelle Black
Sherelle joined Community Impact Newspaper in July 2014 as a reporter for the Grapevine/Colleyville/Southlake edition. She was promoted in 2015 to editor of the GCS edition. In August 2017, Sherelle became the editor of the Lewisville/Flower Mound/Highland Village edition. Sherelle covers transportation, economic development, education and features.