Primary Elections in Frisco


Presidential candidates

Statewide candidates

  • Railroad commissioner: Lon Burnam, Cody Garrett, Grady Yarbrough

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3: Mike Westergren

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5: Dori Contreras Garza

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9: Savannah Robinson

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2: Lawrence “Larry” Meyers (Incumbent)

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5: Betsy Johnson

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6: Robert E. Burns

County & district candidates (Collin County)

  • U.S. Representative, District 3Michael A. Filak, Adam P. Bell

  • State Representative, District 33Karen Jacobs, Cristin Padgett


Presidential candidates 

Statewide candidates

  • Railroad commissioner: Lance N. Christian, Wayne Christian, Gary Gates, John Greytok, Ron Hale, Doug Jeffrey, Weston Martinez

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3: Debra Lehrmann (Incumbent), Michael Massengale

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5: Paul Green (Incumbent), Rick Green

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9: Eve Guzman (Incumbent), Joe Pool

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2: Mary Lou Keel, Chris Oldner, Ray Wheless

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5: Sid Harle, Steve Smith, Scott Walker, Brent Webster

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6: Richard Davis, Michael E. Keasler (Incumbent)

County & District Candidates (Collin County)

  • U.S. Representative, District 3: Sam Johnson (Incumbent), David Cornette, Keith L. Thurgood, John Calvin Slavens

  • State Representative, District 33: Lorne Liechty, Justin Hollan, John Keating

  • Justice, 5th Court of Appeals, Place 7: David James Hanschen, David John Schenk (Incumbent)

  • District Judge, 401st Judicial District: Mark Rusch (Incumbent), Jim Pikl

  • District Judge, 416th Judicial District: Lon L. Garner, Michael Puhl, Andrea Thompson, Andrea Kelly Bouressa

  • District Clerk: Yoon Kim (Incumbent), Lynne Chupp Finley

  • County Civil Court at Law No. 7: Melvin Thathiah, James Angelino, David Waddill

County & District Candidates (Denton County)

  • U.S. Representative, District 26: Joel A. Krause, Michael C. Burgess, Micah Beebe

  • State Representative, District 106: Pat Fallon, Trent Trubenbach

  • Justice, 2th Court of Appeals, Place 3: Mary Colchin Johndroe, Dabney Bassel, Elizabeth Kerr, Bill Ray, William Anthony "Andy" Porter

  • District Judge, 393rd Judicial District: Doug Robinson

  • District Judge, 431st Judicial District: Steven "Wayne" Weinstein, Johnathan M. Bailey

  • Sheriff: Tracy Murphree, William Barrett Travis (Incumbent)

  • County Commissioner Precinct 1: Hugh Coleman (Incumbent), Brett Larson

  • Constable Precinct 2: Michael A. Truitt (Incumbent), Hal Grant

The candidates listed in this guide will be on the 2016 primary election ballot in the communities defined by Community Impact Newspaper’s Frisco coverage area. Only contested races are listed for county and district candidates. Official campaign websites could not be found for certain presidential candidates.

Frisco will also hold a city election May 7. Places 2 and 4 on Frisco City Council are up for election. For more information on the city elections, visit


Q. What is the primary election?

A. In Texas both the Democratic and Republican parties hold a primary election to determine which candidate should represent each party in the general election. Both parties use the primary election results to determine how many delegates to assign to each of their respective party’s presidential candidates. The delegates then vote at conventions to decide their party’s nomination. There are 155 Republican delegates and 252 Democratic delegates at stake.

Q. Can I vote in both the Republican and Democratic primaries in the same year?

A. No. In Texas, voters can participate in the primary election by voting Democrat or Republican, but not both.

Q. Will I vote at the same polling location for the March primary and the November election?

A. Not necessarily. The number of voters is typically lower for the primary election, so the elections office may consolidate precincts to fewer polling locations.

Q. Who is eligible for a mail-in ballot?

A. You may request a ballot by mail if you will be out of the county on election day and during early voting, if you are sick or disabled, if you are age 65 or older on election day, or if you are incarcerated.

Q. Can I vote for Libertarian or third-party candidates in the primary election?

A. No, the Republican and Democratic parties are the only ones who hold primary elections. Other parties select their candidates through other processes.

Q. What is the role of a county’s political party chair? 

A. Political party chairs at the county level are responsible for much of the groundwork each election season. They assist with primary elections, organize voter drive campaigns, work with party candidates and recruit volunteers and precinct chairs.


U.S. House of Representatives
Texas’ 36 representatives in the U.S. House serve two-year terms with no term limits.

Texas Senate
The Texas Senate is made up of 31 single-member districts. Senators serve four-year terms with no term limits.

Texas House
The Texas House is made up of 150 members representing districts of approximately 179,700 people each, according to 2014 census data. Representatives serve two-year terms with no term limits.

Railroad commissioner
Three commissioners are each elected to six-year terms. Despite its name, the commission no longer oversees railroads. The commission sets policies and regulations for the exploration and production of oil and natural gas and manages gas utilities.

Supreme Court of Texas
Nine justices, including a chief justice, are each elected to six-year terms. The Supreme Court of Texas is the highest court for civil litigation statewide.

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
Nine justices, including a presiding judge, are each elected to six-year terms. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals hears cases appealed from trial courts and cases that are punishable by the death penalty. The court also has the authority to grant habeas corpus to defendants found guilty of felony crimes.

Sources:,,, www.collincountytx.govwww.rrc.texas.gov,, and