Election season begins for city councils, school boards

Filing begins today for May 11 elections, launching a packed season with council races in Grapevine, Colleyville, Southlake and Westlake, and school board positions opening up as well. The deadline to file is March 1 at 5 p.m.


In Westlake, four of the five town council posts are up for grabs. Two-year terms expire for incumbents David Levitan, Carol Langdon and Rick Rennhack. Council member Michael Barrett's position is up for a one-year term because he was elected in a special election.

Full terms are for two years and there are no term limits.

For more information, call 817-430-0941; go to www.westlake-tx.org; or visit Town Hall at 3 Village Circle, Suite 202, Westlake.


Two Grapevine incumbents' positions expire: Darlene Freed, Place 4 and Mike Lease in Place 3.

The council this year has a February deadline to set a date for a term-limit election. Citizens filed a petition seeking the election last year. There currently are no term limits for the council and mayor.

For information, contact the city secretary's office at 817-410-3180; go to www.grapevinetexas.gov; or visit City Hall at 200 S. Main St., Grapevine.


Terms expire for Mayor Pro Tem Brandon Bledsoe, Place 3; Al Zito, Place 4; and Jeff Wang, Place 4.

Terms are three years and are limited to two successive terms.

For information, contact the city secretary's office at 817-748-8400; go to www.cityofsouthlake.com; or visit City Hall, 1400 Main St., Southlake.


Mayor David Kelly's term expires this year, as does that of council member Carolyn Wollin in Place 1. Terms are for three years with no term limits.

For information, contact the city secretary's office at 817-503-1000; visit www.colleyville.com; or go to City Hall at 100 Main Street, Colleyville.

Grapevine-Colleyville Independent School District

Terms expire for trustee Karen Deakin, Place 3 and Lisa Pardo, Place 4.

Terms are for three years.

For information, contact the district administration at 817-25-5200; go to www.gcisd-k12.org; or visit the Administration Building, 3051 Ira E. Woods Ave., Grapevine.

Carroll Independent School District

The terms of trustee John Thane, Place 6 and Sherri Williams, Place 7, expire.

Terms are for three years with no term limits.

For information, call 817-949-8222; go to www.southlakecarroll.edu; or visit 2400 N. Carroll Ave., Southlake.