Texas drivers are required to annually submit a vehicle registration and inspection for each vehicle, according to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. Fees vary based on vehicle type and county of registration and inspection.
In 2015, the state of Texas implemented a “Two Steps, One Sticker” vehicle inspection and registration program.
The registration fee, which begins at $50.75, goes directly to the State Highway Fund. In 2017, the fund collected more than $1.5 billion in registration fees for the construction and maintenance of the state’s transportation system, according to the DMV. One dollar from each registration is allocated for TexasSure, an insurance verification system.
Local fees, which range from $0 to $31.50, are established by county officials. Counties can charge up to $10 for road and bridge projects, $20 for long-term road projects and $1.50 for child safety programs.
The inspection fee is shared by the inspection station and the state, which collects $7.50 per vehicle. Processing and handling fees are also charged.
Correction: The “Two Steps, One Sticker” program was passed by the Texas Legislature in 2013 but not implemented until 2015. The base registration fee is $50.75. The state’s portion of the inspection fee ranges from $7.50 to $22 according to vehicle and inspection type.