Presidential candidates

Statewide candidates

  • Railroad commissioner: Lon Burnam, Cody Garrett, Grady Yarbrough

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3: Mike Westergren

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5: Dori Contreras Garza

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9: Savannah Robinson

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2: Lawrence “Larry” Meyers (Incumbent)

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5: Betsy Johnson

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6: Robert E. Burns

County & district candidates

  • District judge, 11th Judicial District : Rabeea Collier, Kristen Hawkins, Jim Lewis

  • District judge, 61st Judicial District: Julie Countiss, Fredericks Phillips, Dion Ramos

  • District judge, 165th Judicial District: Ursula A. Hall, Josefina Rendon

  • District judge, 174th Judicial District: Hazel B. Jones, Mack McInnis, Raul Rodriguez

  • District judge, 176th Judicial District: Nikita “Niki” Harmon, Shawna L. Reagin

  • District judge, 177th Judicial District: David L. Singer, Robert Johnson

  • District judge, 178th Judicial District: Lori Chambers Gray, Kelli Johnson

  • District judge, 179th Judicial District: Stephen Aslett, Randy Roll

  • District judge, 215th Judicial District: Jonathan C.C. Day, Elaine Palmer, JoAnn Storey, Joshua A. Verde

  • District judge, 333st Judicial District: Lisa Ketai, Daryl Moore

  • District judge, 351st Judicial District: Greg Glass, George Powell

  • Harris County district attorney: Kim Ogg, Lloyd Wayne Oliver, Morris Overstreet

  • Harris County sheriff: Ed Gonzalez, Jerome Moore, Theodore “Ted” Perez, Jeff Stauber

  • Harris County tax assessor-collector: Ann Harris Bennett, Brandon Dudley

    * All Democratic candidates running in Montgomery County are running unopposed.


Presidential candidates 

Statewide candidates

  • Railroad commissioner: Lance N. Christian, Wayne Christian, Gary Gates, John Greytok, Ron Hale, Doug Jeffrey, Weston Martinez

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3: Debra Lehrmann (Incumbent), Michael Massengale

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5: Paul Green (Incumbent), Rick Green

  • Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9: Eve Guzman (Incumbent), Joe Pool

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2: Mary Lou Keel, Chris Oldner, Ray Wheless

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5: Sid Harle, Steve Smith, Scott Walker, Brent Webster

  • Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6: Richard Davis, Michael E. Keasler (Incumbent)

County & District Candidates

  • State Rep. District 150: Theresa Hearn-Haynes, Debbie Riddle*, Valoree Swanson, Al Zolli

  • Harris County attorney: Chris Carmona, Jim Leitner

  • Harris County sheriff: Paul Day, Ron Hickman, Carl Pittman

  • Harris County tax assessor-collector: Mike Sullivan*, Don Sumners

  • Constable, Precinct 4 : Mark Herman*, Rolf Nelson

  • Harris County Republican Party chairman : Tex Christopher, Rick Ramos, Paul Simpson

  • U.S. Rep. District 8 : Kevin Brady*, Andre Dean, Craig McMichael, Steve Toth

  • District judge, 9th Judicial District: Phil Grant, Kate Shipman Bihm, Eric Yollick

  • District judge, 410th Judicial District: Kristin Bays, Chuck Meyer, Jennifer James Robin

  • District judge, 435th Judicial District: Thomas (Tom) Brewer III, Patty Maginnis, Mike Seiler

  • Montgomery County attorney: Gary F. Beauchamp, JD Lambright*

  • Montgomery County sheriff: Rand Henderson, Jim Napolitano

  • Montgomery County commissioner, Precinct 3: James Noack*, Jay Mac Sanders

The candidates listed in this guide will be on the 2016 primary election ballot in the communities defined by Community Impact Newspaper’s The Woodlands coverage area. Only contested races are listed. Candidates with silhouette photos were not able to be reached before press time. Official campaign websites could not be found for certain presidential candidates.


Q. What is the primary election?

A. In Texas both the Democratic and Republican parties hold a primary election to determine which candidate should represent each party in the general election. Both parties use the primary election results to determine how many delegates to assign to each of their respective party’s presidential candidates. The delegates then vote at conventions to decide their party’s nomination. There are 155 Republican delegates and 252 Democratic delegates at stake.

Q. Can I vote in both the Republican and Democratic primaries in the same year?

A. No. In Texas, voters can participate in the primary election by voting Democrat or Republican, but not both.

Q. Will I vote at the same polling location for the March primary and the November election?

A. Not necessarily. The number of voters is typically lower for the primary election, so the elections office may consolidate precincts to fewer polling locations.

Q. Who is eligible for a mail-in ballot?

A. You may request a ballot by mail if you will be out of the county on election day and during early voting, if you are sick or disabled, if you are age 65 or older on election day, or if you are incarcerated.

Q. Can I vote for Libertarian or third-party candidates in the primary election?

A. No, the Republican and Democratic parties are the only ones who hold primary elections. Other parties select their candidates through other processes.

Q. What is the role of a county’s political party chair? 

A. Political party chairs at the county level are responsible for much of the groundwork each election season. They assist with primary elections, organize voter drive campaigns, work with party candidates and recruit volunteers and precinct chairs.


U.S. House of Representatives
Texas’ 36 representatives in the U.S. House serve two-year terms with no term limits.

Texas Senate
The Texas Senate is made up of 31 single-member districts. Senators serve four-year terms with no term limits.

Texas House
The Texas House is made up of 150 members representing districts of approximately 179,700 people each, according to 2014 census data. Representatives serve two-year terms with no term limits.

Railroad commissioner
Three commissioners are each elected to six-year terms. Despite its name, the commission no longer oversees railroads. The commission sets policies and regulations for the exploration and production of oil and natural gas and manages gas utilities.

Supreme Court of Texas
Nine justices, including a chief justice, are each elected to six-year terms. The Supreme Court of Texas is the highest court for civil litigation statewide.

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
Nine justices, including a presiding judge, are each elected to six-year terms. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals hears cases appealed from trial courts and cases that are punishable by the death penalty. The court also has the authority to grant habeas corpus to defendants found guilty of felony crimes.

Sources:,, www.rrc.texas.gov,, and